D.I.Y. Oversized Clutch

I haven’t done one of these in a while, but I was so inspired by all of the oversized clutches I’ve seen lately that I was determined to take 10 minutes and make one.  I have actually had the idea for a clutch in mind for quite a while but I was thinking more along the lines of a regular sized clutch.  Here’s some visual stimulation for you:

click image for credits
click on image for credit
click on image for credit
click on image for credit

Need I say more?  Not really, so I’ll just show you what I came up with.  

Supplies:

2′ X 2′ square pillow cover 

1 wire hanger

untwist the neck of the hanger and pull it open so form the frame of the clutch



fold in approximately 1 1/2 inches of the side of the pillow case that is to become the bottom of the clutch.  This isn’t a necessary step, but I wanted my clutch more on the rectangular side.




Insert the wire hanger into the open pocket of the pillow case cover and bend it to create the frame you desire (rectangular or square).



Tuck the hanger wires into the top part of the pillow case pocket so that they wont scratch anything.  Then flip the top portion of the pillowcase over and you’ve got a clutch.



Voila!



Easy, right?  I made it while I was watching the kids color and read books and really it only took about 10 minutes including the time it took for me to take the step by step pictures.

Oh and I’d be so rude not to remind you to enter the shopping spree giveaway!




33 thoughts on “D.I.Y. Oversized Clutch

  1. Cool never thought of doing it that way. Can you make me a yellow one?
    I used some old fabric and some cardboard.
    Hmmm will try this next week when I work on my new earring orders (BRB)

  2. Wow that is so faboulous and I so love ur idea..yes please make a video for me cant wait to try it out myself

  3. The clutch looks soooo cute!!!! Maybe I’m just slow but I cant figure out how to make it. If you have time can you pls make a video 🙂

  4. Are you freaking kidding me!!! This is amazing! I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! You have great style and I am now following! I found you on Rush Our Fashion. I can’t wait to see you in the scarf and necklace. Kiah

  5. Love the idea! I will try to make it! I love overside clutch, I just have 2 of them. One of them is from Payless Shoe Store, is from Christian Siriano collection. I bought it for $12.00 bucks!!ould you believe it? I will send to you some pics. Kuddos girl!!! and thank you!!

  6. So cool,I’m going to buy a cute pillowcase right now! (doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll ever make the clutch though) LOL I bought 2 t-shirts to do the DIY dress you did, and I haven’t made that yet.

    1. HAHAHA! Girl….Don’t even get me started on all the start and stop I do around here. I got my pillow case from the thrift store for 49 cents and the hanger from the cleaners for well free I guess (but not really). You MUST try it. I don’t do any DIYs that aren’t easy trust me! 🙂

Join the discussion