Reflections and Revelations

 

Don’t forget to enter the shopping spree giveway…

sunnies: 99 store | jacket: GAP | sweater: Limited | belt: hubbys | cargos: Alloy.com | wedges: UrbanOG.com | watch: Target |ears: F21

As I go through my day I tend to think in themes. What do I mean?  Well, any given day I might be thinking about ways to get myself in better physical shape and my thoughts will jump from what kind of diets would work best for me, what days of the week would make the most sense and what workout routine is the most reasonable given my lifestyle.  Or the theme of the day might be making meaningful connections and my thoughts will jump to programs that I can plan for my church groups, taking a girlfriend out to dinner, or sending a handwritten card.

Recently, I’ve been thinking about being a better person and the example it sets for my children.  Some thoughts that came to mind:

Be authentic.  Be true to yourself. – Judy Garland once said, “Always be a first rate version of yourself instead of a second rate version of somebody else.”  Live by this statement.  There is no such thing as living in someone else’s shoes.  The only shoes you can occupy are your own.  If you aren’t being yourself, you aren’t truly living – you’re merely existing.  And ask yourself this:  If you don’t like who you really are, why should I like you?

Care about people. – If you don’t genuinely care about people, they won’t care about you.  The more you help others, the more they will want to help you.  Love and kindness begets love and kindness.  And so on and so forth.

Make others feel good. – People will rarely remember what you did, but they will always remember how you made them feel.

Smile often. – Everyone likes the sight of a genuine smile.  Think about how you feel when a complete stranger looks into your eyes and smiles.  Suddenly they don’t seem like a stranger anymore, do they?

Address people by their name. – People love the sight and sound of their own name.  So make sure you learn to remember names.  Use them courteously in both oral and written communication.

Listen intently to what others have to say. – Eyes focused, ears tuned, mobile phone off.  In a world that can’t move fast enough, someone who can find time to listen to others is always appreciated.

Make yourself available and approachable. – If people cannot get a hold of you, or have trouble approaching you, they will forget about you.  Your general availability and accessibility to others is extremely important to them.  Always maintain a positive, tolerant attitude and keep an open line of communication to those around you.

I hope this isn’t only food for thought, but food for the soul as well and you’ll put these words on a screen into action.

8 thoughts on “Reflections and Revelations

  1. I make it my business to learn my students’ name the first few days of school. They are always shocked but it makes them feel important. The others are all great reminders. I really need to work on listening with my cell phone off and my fingers still. I know it is a bad habit but I get everything doen from it quickly. Mini me will appreicate me working on this beginnign today thanks to you, Xo.

  2. Great points! I’ve always tried to practice all of those and try to instill those qualities in my girls. However, on the flip side, as much as I help others, I never, ever see them helping me…outside of my mother…and its sad that when I start pulling back, I get the side eye, eye roll, and the shade thrown my way.

  3. i LOVE LOVE the wedges + cargos combo. Frankly, people don’t do this enough – your entire ensemble looks so casual + fresh! A lovely outfit for a fellow wannabe world-traveller 😉

    This is such a worthwhile list that everyone should carry around in their back pockets. Smiles are always contagious!!

    xo,
    raven

  4. Love addressing people by name. Any time I go to a store or venue (like the Staples Center) I always try to greet my checker, ticket taker or whoever it is by name. It always makes them smile.

Join the discussion

