MARRIAGE CONVERSATIONS | 14 DAY RELATIONSHIP CHALLENGE – DAY 3

MARRIAGE CONVERSATIONS

14 DAY RELATIONSHIP CHALLENGE DAY 3

CHALLENGE: HUG YOUR SPOUSE 3 TIMES TODAY

We give hugs to offer comfort, to show concern, to share excitement, to express a feeling that goes beyond words.  If you follow my Periscope series Marriage Conversations, you know I focus on three core values in marriage, which are COMMUNICATION, CONSISTENCY and PRAYER.  Recently, I talked about the power of communication and that not all communication is verbal.  In fact, we say far more with our mouths shut than we do when we speak.  A hug is a non-verbal way of telling your spouse you love him|her.  When my kids argue and get into fights, I sometimes make them hug-it-out.  I force them to hug each other until they stop crying and most times they end up laughing uncontrollably.  It’s hard to be mad and hug someone at the same time.  Our spouses deal with a lot throughout the day; things we’ll never know.  Our role is to come alongside them, pray over them and encourage them.  Open wide and wrap those arms around your honey at least 3 times today and see the difference it makes.

PRAYER

Dear God, use my arms to comfort your son, my husband.  Use my arms to remind him that he is the apple of your eye and as your Word says in Isiah 54:17 “no weapon formed against him shall prosper.”  God, use my arms to encourage him to cast his cares unto you because you and only you can sustain him.  I thank you, God, and I count it done.  Amen

OBSERVATION

I shared with you that I feel like you’ll get the best results of this challenge if you opt to keep it a secret while you’re doing it.  This is so your spouse doesn’t dismiss your actions as simply items you’re trying to check off your list but will instead receive your actions as genuine attempts to make an impact on your marriage.  Well, here’s the thing, my husband follows me socially, so keeping it a secret didn’t quite works so well, BUT, I have been pleasantly surprised by the fact that he seems to look forward to me performing the task.  For example, today as soon as I hopped out of bed I gave him a long head-to-chest hug (you know the kind where you listed to his heartbeat with your head against his chest).  I then went about getting kids ready, getting fixed up…business as usual.  Later in the day, he texted me saying, “You only hugged me once.”  Of course, I knew he read my blog or saw my Instagram post.  My response was, “So far! lol”.  When he came home, he was met with hug 2 and 3.  You guys, it’s working.  I know it’s only day 3 but I sincerely feel like these little efforts are making a difference.  What about you?

How to join?  That’s up to you!  It’s completely your choice how you participate in this challenge.  Truly, what matters to me is that you are putting these prompts into action prayerfully and intentionally.  I want you to see the fruits of your labor when it’s all said and done.  Here’s how you can follow along: (1) Check back here to find the daily prompt along with my encouragement, prayer and observations from the previous day.  (2) Check out my Instagram where you’ll also see the daily prompts and can engage other participants.  (3) Watch the live Periscope episodes over the course of these 14 days where you’ll find me talking about my observations in addition to tackling a Marriage Conversations Topic.  Finally, (4) you’ll find a video dedicated to this challenge, with all the details and each day spelled out for you.  This is in case you’re catching this on the 15th day and you really want to participate.  The beauty is there’s no such thing as a late start.  Anytime is a great time to start doing these things in your relationships. #MARRIAGECONVERSATIONS

Your Girl,

lesliesignature

 

 

 

marriage conversation

One thought on “MARRIAGE CONVERSATIONS | 14 DAY RELATIONSHIP CHALLENGE – DAY 3

Join the discussion

