Friends or Foes – Wednesday Prayer

Prayer for children

 

Friends are a very important part of our lives.  I never had a ton of friends growing up and girl friends were fewer.  Being smashed between an older and younger brother, I was sort of a tomboy.  I didn’t share the same interests as the girls I knew.  I didn’t have an interest in talking about boys, exchanging makeup tips or mall hoping.  I just didn’t.  It wasn’t until high school that I became friends with two girls who were my classmates.  It turned out that these girls were very much into school and had a plan to get to college.  I had always talked about going to college, but quite honestly didn’t know the first place to start.  Not knowing the college prep process, I followed their lead when it came to which AP classes to enroll in, what college applications to fill out and tests to take.  We had a great friendship.  After graduation, we each got accepted into different colleges and distance took its toll.  Now, our communication is very few and far between, but I still love them the same.

I pray that my children experience true friendships that encourages and build them up.

HAVE YOU EXPERIENCED FRIENDSHIPS THAT HAVE CHANGED AS YOU’VE MATURED?  HOW DO YOU HOLD ON TO THOSE FRIENDSHIPS OR DO YOU LET THEM GO?

 fashiondujour-fashiondujourdaily-fashion-du-jour

3 thoughts on “Friends or Foes – Wednesday Prayer

  1. My friendships have changed as I’ve matured. I found the greatest need for friendships when I was young married mom of 3. The friendships that I cultivated then have become lifelong friendships though we are now all on different coasts. I hold on by nurturing and cultivating the relationships via phone, email or whatever else is available. The knowledge that you are loved lessens the miles.

    1. Hey! I count it a blessing to have women in my life now who I can share special moments with. It gets tough when you get married and have children because your single and child-free friends don’t get your new life {no fault of their own} and your married with children friends are all too busy just like you. Another reason why it’s important to marry the right person. No one wants to be alone in a marriage.

Join the discussion

