Back to School

With school starting back up this week, I’m having mixed emotions.  All of the littles will be in school except Jonny.  Jaxon is going to first grade, Julia is going to Kindergarten and Jayde will be in preschool.  Being home with them this summer has given me the chance to see Jaxon and Julia develop their “negotiation skills” as well as their “leadership skills” and I’ve watched Jayde mimic their every move.  She’s growing so quickly and even tells us that she’s not a baby anymore.

Speaking of back to school I thought I would put together a short list of ways to celebrate the first day of school!

1. BTS breakfast party.  For 99 cents I put together a fun little breakfast party for the kids. 99 cents were for the balloons.  Everything else I had at home.  I spelled out “1st Day of School” out of regular 8 1/2 x 11 colored paper cut in half and with the scraps I made large confetti squares.  We had pancakes, fruit, powdered sugar and strawberry syrup in the fridge so that was easy.  The kids really liked it and were very surprised.  The best part was they went to school with a positive attitude.

first day of schoolfirst day of schoolfirst day of school
2. Lunchbox love. A special note like, “Hope you’re having a great day!” or a bite of your child’s gave candy {just a bite} with a note that says he/she can have the rest of his/her treat after school.
3. After school snack surprise. Granted I never need a reason to eat ice cream, the first day of school is a great reason to make a pit stop on the way home and discuss the first day over a cone.
4. Make a sign.  I found some really cute printable signs to send to Hubby for printing.  Here’s where I found them.

first day of school

Praying you and your family have a wonderful year!

fashiondujour-fashiondujourdaily-fashion-du-jour

5 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. They look ready! Jayde didn’t have a sign? I had mixed feelings about BTS, I love when they’re all home. I’m grateful I work from home so I get that immediate after-school time.

    1. LOL I should have done a sign for Jayde too so that she would feel included. 😦 Yes, I was really glad to be home when they got home from school. I got to hear all about their day, but boy were they tired! lol

  2. This is such a neat idea! Wishing your kiddies a great school year this year. Congratulations on the baby!!!!!!!!!!!!! May God continue to bless and cover your family. 🙂

Join the discussion

