Insta-World

In case you’re wondering what’s been going on in my INSTA-world, wonder no longer.  Here’s a summary of all the shenanigans we’ve been up to.

FASHION DU JOUR | INSTAGRAM

1. I was FINALLY FINALLY able to pin down this amazing woman and her family for dinner at Olive Garden.  So glad we were able to figure it out.  My lightning bolt, Julia, finally got to meet her lightning bolt, Lindcy and the rest was history.  Julia was under the weather so not the usual ball of energy but they had a moment.  By the end of the night, Jayde had fallen in love with Tieko and the boys were making plans for power ranger play dates.  Looking forward to our family night in March!

2. Love when I capture what a February sunset looks like here in Cali.

3.  It’s a little frightening how often I think about sending thank you notes to people throughout the day.  Notice I said “think” about.  I’ve finally made it my mission to quit thanking folks in my head and actually write a note and drop it in the mail.  God knows I LOVE receiving them in the mail, so of course girls like me love getting them too!  I created my blog planner by hand and added an encouragement corner.  It’s a place that I put names for girls I want to pray for, encourage, and thank.  Here are some cards that I really likehere, here, and of course you can always have them custom made by this crafty guy!

4.  I tell you, whenever the camera man steps away for a split second while I’m shooting at The Action Factory, I manage to get a little snap happy. Speaking of shooting, here’s a peek, okay and another peek of what I’ve been up to lately.

5. The Happy Wives Club.  This book has been a blessing!  You might recall, I did a mini-review here about this book.  I think what I enjoy most about it is it’s not a one-size-fits-all kind of book.  The author, Fawn Weaver, tells you her experience as she trotted the globe, visiting couple after couple in an attempt to uncover the secret sauce to a happy marriage.  It allows you learn as you hear these couples share the ups and downs, good and bad of what contributed to a successful marriage.  That book should come with a pen and a highlighter.  I’m sending it off to my mom to read next.  Definitely a great book club book.  Oh and I hate that I missed Fawn at the Glendale Galleria last week.

6.  You probably know, the hubs and I started a Young Adult LIFE Group where we discuss various issues that young adults go through with a Christian twist.  While our weekly meetings are in the month of October every year, we have been working to keep everyone connected throughout the year.  On this day, we set up a Sunday brunch at C & O Cucina {otherwise known as heaven on earth}.  Of course the meal was not complete without a few juicy table questions.  As always, what happens at LIFE group, stays at LIFE group!

7.  Oh hey!  That’s me just casually walking down the street in my 5 inch heels, cashmere trench coat, and ballerina bun.  And what do you know the day turned black & white and a camera man appeared out of no where.  LOL Right!  This was one of my favorite looks when I talked about how to make life better.  Yes, I’m just a little obsessed with oversized coats lately.  I also shared some ways to rock an oversized coat here.  Don’t mind me.

8.  On Valentine’s Day hubby and I spent the day eating and eating and movie watching.  All of my favorite things. Our first stop was Toast Bakery Cafe.  Don’t shoot me but I have to admit that we were not impressed.  It’s one of those WeLA spots that the celebs frequent, but to food wasn’t amazing.  I think what did it for me was when they said they didn’t put butter on their toast.  WHAT?  Isn’t the name of the restaurant Toast?  And you don’t put butter on it.  LOL We did, however, adore the little sweet shop right next door.  You see we made a stop and snapped a shot.

9.  So that amazing woman I mentioned above had an amazing event called Brunch with Tieko, where I was honored to be a given the opportunity to share with the lovely people a little about my store, “I Quit My Job”!  It was such an incredible time and I am just thrilled to be brought onto her team and entrusted with sharing my testimony.

10.  Have you ever had the pleasure of dining at The Coffee Company in Westchester?  This is what I call toast, french toast.  If you haven’t gone, GO!  The french toast is made with Hawaiian Roll bread, yea I said it.  Delish!  We stopped here with the family after one of Jaxon’s basketball games before children’s choir rehearsal.

11.  Jaxon turned 6 on January 28th. Geez, just typing that feels strange.  I just remember holding him in my arms as a little baby.  Those were the days when the house was quiet and my sole focus in the wee hours of the morning was him.  I remember those days like yesterday.  He’s growing up.  To celebrate, we wanted him to get to do something special one-on-one.  He and daddy went to his very first Lakers game.  He had a blast!

12.  I talked a bit about this tee here and shared a great way to style it.  In case you’re wondering, this is an exclusive tee and it’s only being offered for a limited time.  I’m not one for tooting my own horn, but you get the picture.  LOL Order yours here!

13. February was good to me for many reasons.  One reason is that I found a really great online shop.  Yes, I’m one of those crazies who gets excited about this kind of thing.  What’s worse, is I don’t even shop.  I just like to look.  These are some of my favorite items.  Of course 3 of them are jeans.  Check it out!  I’m not kidding.

14.  This was my first day out of the house in almost 3 days.  The babies were sick and then I caught a little something so I was out too.  Believe it or not, all I did before this shot was shower and brush my teeth, oh and throw on a little Nivea tinted lip balm, my old aviators and a hoodie.  Done!  We mad our way to the grandparents house for an afternoon dinner.

15.  I always get butterflies for my husband when he officiates a wedding.  This was his fourth wedding and it’s like he was born to do this.  After the wedding a random older gentleman walked up to us and told Jon that he almost had him in tears because he had such great words.  He did.  Then the guy offered Jon a beer.  LOL  Of course, Jon declined but we laughed in the car that maybe the guy had already had a few.

16.  This #TBT pic of Jayde is just priceless, isn’t it.  Nothing more needs to be said.

17.  Alright, so maybe it’s just me but it seems like everywhere I look, we black women are idolizing Beyonce for countless reasons.  Yes, she’s beautiful and has an awesome voice and so many other great things, but it’s beginning to feel like girls are aiming to be Beyonce.  What’s wrong with that you might ask?  Well, we won’t get into the whole idea of idolatry because that’s a different conversation, but it just further forces girls and women to meet this standard of womanhood, beauty, etc. that is not always realistic.  Furthermore, who says the non-Beyonce path that these girls would have have explored on their own wouldn’t have been just as great and amazing and even more worthwhile.  Just saying.  In all this wishing to be like Beyonce, don’t forget to find out who you are.

18.  What a lucky girl I am.  Jaxon took me to Mommy-Son Date Night at school.  We had so much fun.  The theme was the olympics.  We played bean bag toss, hula hoop toss, soccer, and we skipped the other few games because they weren’t preg-friendly.  We enjoyed a nice pasta dinner afterwards and beignets.  The perfect evening!

19.  See #12.

20.  Krispy Kreme is the devil.  I wanted to do something different for Jaxon’s classroom party this year so instead of traditional cupcakes that end up dying the kids fingers and mouths blue, I decided to go with sprinkled donuts this year.  They were a hit.  What kinder doesn’t love donuts, I mean come on.  I also did the whole goodie bag bit too.

21.  If you follow my IG you know I was MIA on Valentine’s Day weekend.  Well, I just wanted to make sure the person who is most important to me knew he had my full attention.  Meanwhile, he snapped couple pics and shared on his IG. LOL  Honestly, it was nice to unplug and just be fully and totally present.  I’m glad I did.

22.  I’m in love with this coat so you will see it again, and again, and again.  In case you missed this outfit post…

23.  I’ve always been into upcycling my clothes, meaning grabbing a pair of scissors and making my old stuff into something current and trendy.  You might have noticed by raw edge denim is WAY in.  If you have a pair of skinny jeans you don’t mind cutting, grab a pair of scissor and chop em a little above the ankle.  Throw on a nice pair of stilettos and  you’re done!  I wore these with the oversized coat outfit.

24.  These two, Jayde and Julia, are hams!  There I said it. This is what my cell phone camera is full of.  THEM!

25.  Did you know the ol site got a facelift?  If not, take a look.

On another note, when I took Julia to the doctor’s office this morning {she’s been fighting a fever for a while} I overheard a father telling his two small clearly sick children to stop bothering him because he had pictures he needed to send.  At first I dismissed it and figured he must have been having a REALLY jacked up morning.  But then my presumption that he was a pretty crummy father was confirmed.  The guy said, rather loudly, as his daughter crawled onto his lap, “Will you guys stop it.  You already took up enough of my morning!”  Mind you it was only 10:05 a.m.  I’ll let you draw your own conclusions, but I was glad when the nurse called Julia’s name.

fashiondujour-fashiondujourdaily-fashion-du-jour

8 thoughts on “Insta-World

  1. LOL #20 For the past two years DONUTS is what my little guy request for me to take for his class to celebrate his birthday….which so happens to be Dec. 23. So, there is always cute lil Christmas style donuts. He loves it!

  2. “Alright, so maybe it’s just me but it seems like everywhere I look, we black women are idolizing Beyonce for countless reasons. Yes, she’s beautiful and has an awesome voice and so many other great things, but it’s beginning to feel like girls are aiming to be Beyonce. What’s wrong with that you might ask? Well, we won’t get into the whole idea of idolatry because that’s a different conversation, but it just further forces girls and women to meet this standard of womanhood, beauty, etc. that is not always realistic. Furthermore, who says the non-Beyonce path that these girls would have have explored on their own wouldn’t have been just as great and amazing and even more worthwhile. Just saying. In all this wishing to be like Beyonce, don’t forget to find out who you are.”

    Wow Leslie..you always seem to have the perfect words. As a grown woman, I myself compare myself and even feel jealous when I hear about Beyonce. I blame it on my own insecurities and low self esteem. I know some may call me a hater but it is deeper than that. It is feeling some days that if only I looked like her or danced like her I would be happy or my husband would show me a little more attention. Yes I hear from people, “you are so pretty” or “you are beautiful” but that means nothing when you don’t feel it on the inside. I want to be able to be with my husband and watch her perform on tv and not have the thought that he wishes I was her..Ugh I know I sound crazy and NO my husband has NEVER compared me to her or any other woman but I beat myself up comparing myself. What is wrong with me?I look at other woman and don’t even think of comparing their beauty with Beyonce yet I do it to myself. These are insecurities that I have never admitted to but your post helped me so maybe admitting to my insecurities will help someone else!!
    I told myself that 2014 was going to be about loving myself and realizing how beautiful I am on the inside and outside. Your post helped me take a step in the right direction!!

    1. Christina, I’m glad this resonated with you. I just see so many posts on Instagram and everywhere else where women are saying they wish they were Beyonce or Beyonce gives them life, or they want a relationship like Beyonces and the truth of the matter is we only see what she allows us to see and I’ll bet that her relationship has it’s challenges too and she has insecurities just as well as the rest of us do. Again, not to downplay all of her accomplishments, talent and beauty, but instead to highlight that there are so many similarities between those we public figures idolize and our very own lives. The bigger issues is that if it weren’t Beynce, it would be someone else’s beauty, life, talent, husband, etc. filling the void of insecurity we feel. I will say, that I believe there’s a healthy degree of insecurity that can help to keep us tempered and humble, but when it becomes a self-loathing, there’s a problem. I’ll leave it at this, you have insecurities, I have insecurities, Beyonce has insecurities. For as long as we live, those insecurities will remain if we choose to allow them too. Not overnight, but little by little we can grow to shed those insecurities that cause stumbling blocks in other areas of our lives.

Join the discussion

