D.I.Y. Valentine’s Day Cards

FASHION DU JOUR | D.I.Y. VALENTINE'S DAY CARDS

I can’t believe we’re already heading into the second month of 2015.  In my opinion Valentine’s Day is the first holiday after the new year when, as a mom, there’s some preparation in order.  This is the first holiday when you have to bring something to school for the class.  I always seem to let these holiday’s creep up on me, but this year I’m determined.

For Valentine’s Day last year I decided I wanted to help the kids give their classmates something special.  A while back I found a really cute V Day card on Pinterest that I just knew I could make myself if I just allotted time.  And so began my quest to D.I.Y. Valentine’s Day Cards.  Here’s the step by step tutorial.  You’ll find it super easy!

1. What makes this card really cool is the FOCUSED hand holding the sucker with the UNFOCUSED background.  You’ll likely need to to take a picture of your child with a camera that will allow you the option to blur the background.  Another way to accomplish this effect is by editing your photo with programs like Photoscape  or Pixlr .  This should do the trick as well.  I went with route 1 and used my camera to blur the picture.

FASHION DU JOUR | DO IT YOURSELF VALENTINES DAY CARD

2.  I then edited the picture using Pixlr to add a rosy effect.  I did this by going to Effect > Unicolor > Jonathan.

FASHION DU JOUR | DO IT YOURSELF VALENTINE'S DAY CARD DIY

3.  I then added “Happy Valentine’s Day” to the picture.  I kept it traditional but of course you can add whatever cute text you want.  Maybe, “Be Mine!” or “I’m a sucker for you!”.  I did this by going to Type > Retro > Deftone Stylus.

FASHION DU JOUR | DO IT YOURSELF VALENTINES DAY CARD DIY

4.  I wanted the pictures to be printed on nice heavy paper, so Young Connection printed them for me.  They’ve got a special offer especially for these kinds of custom cards.  Simply place your order sending the print ready image exactly how you’d like it and they’ll do the rest…candy not included. lol

And guess what, YOU get 10% off if you use code:  FDJcode. .

Click here for ordering details or here.

 

5.  I bought a few bags of small suckers from the 99 cent store.  They’re about 4 inches tall which is perfect given the size of the card.  You can really use any suckers but I like the plain red ones.

FASHION DU JOUR | DO IT YOURSELF VALENTINES DAY CARDS DIY

6.  Using a craft razor or scissors, make two 1/2 inch slits on the card, above and below the hand.  This part is a little tricky if you don’t own a craft razor only because you don’t want to bend the card to much and end up creasing it, and you also don’t want to cut off a finger, so be careful.  If you’re doing this craft with a child, this is where you step in!

ValJuliaslit

7.  The last step is to insert the stick of the sucker into the slits as you see above.  it seems all sticks are not created equal so if you have a fuller stick you may need to make the slits a tad wider.  If you have a narrow stick, you can use a piece of tape or a cute sticker and place it over the stick on the back of the card to secure it.  This will also help when transporting the cards to school.

And there you have it folks, you’re very own super cute personalized Valentine’s Day Cards.  Once I had the cards in hand it really only took about 20 minutes to make about 28 cards.  It was well worth it to look like a hero in my child’s eyes!

fashiondujour-fashiondujourdaily-fashion-du-jour

17 thoughts on “D.I.Y. Valentine’s Day Cards

Join the discussion

