Just

April 10 316April 10 279April 10 327April 10 341

A sign of maturity is learning from your mistakes and making decisions that will prevent you from making those mistakes again.  Through this maturation process, we gain wisdom and understand and at some point we share our experiences with those we care about.  I’ve had my fair share of experiences that Ive gained wisdom and understanding from.  And I guess you can call me mature.  So this is me sharing with those I care about.  Are you ready?

For the girls, or guys, out there dibbling and dabbling in the same no good relationships with the same no good old people. STOP IT!  Stop investing yourself in these kinds of pointless relationships.  The act of ‘relationship’ is one of the core reasons we exist as human beings.  It’s the most intimate connection we have with those around us and so we have to choose those relationships wisely.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again; you can do bad all by yourself.  You don’t need someone reminding you or keeping you in a poor state.

Those of you who commute will enjoy this one.   When I used to commute to work, I remember taking the same path to work every day.  I’d take the same freeway and streets, catch the same red light at the same corner and even see the same kid waiting at the same bus stop.  I remember subconsciously knowing exactly how many seconds I’d have to apply my mascara before the light changed from red to green.  It became a routine.  I had it down to such a science that I knew if I got on the road at 7:30 a.m. I’d have a greater chance of being late than if I got on the road at 7:45 a.m. due to the decreased number of cars on the road at 7:30 a.m. versus 7:45 a.m.  I was blindly driving to and from work everyday with no real attention to if there was another way, a faster way, a better way.  I remember being forced out of that routine one day because of a construction detour.  I ended up taking a side street with landed me at work 10 minutes earlier than usual.  10 minutes!  The first thing I remember saying to myself was, “I wish I had known about this route a long time ago.”

On the “road of relationships” it’s rare that we evaluate our methods. It’s rare for us to stop and think if this relationship is really the best relationship it could be, or further more if it’s the relationship meant for us.  It’s no one’s fault really, it’s just the common mistake of being comfortable enough with the current to not feel the need to second guess or seek something better.  But what if?  What if you’re existing in a mediocre relationship simply because you haven’t asked yourself the question, is there something better?  Now, I’m not saying you need to drop your hero…because you might end up with a zero, but what I AM saying is for those of you who know you’re in a unsatisfying relationship, take a step back and evaluate some things, primarily yourself.  When was the last time you prayed and asked God to reveal to you your purpose?  When was the last time you prayed, period? God doesn’t make mistakes and if it’s meant to be then it will happen – in the right time, with the right person and for the right reasons.  Don’t make the mistaken of “falling in love” when you’re lonely, fall in love when you’re ready.

Now that I’ve said all this about not getting yourself into the wrong relationships, it’s only right that I say again that you shouldn’t close the door altogether.  Don’t reject new relationships just because some of the old ones didn’t work.  There is always an experience to be gained from every relationship.

7 thoughts on “Just

Join the discussion

