It’s okay.

Nobody gets through life without losing someone they love, someone they need, or something they thought was meant to be.  But it is these losses that make us stronger and eventually move us toward future opportunities for growth and happiness.

It’s okay to fall apart for a little while.  You don’t always have to pretend to be strong, and there is no need to constantly prove that everything is going well.  You shouldn’t be concerned with what other people are thinking either – cry if you need to – it’s healthy to shed your tears.  The sooner you do, the sooner you will be able to smile again.  And a smile doesn’t always mean a person is happy.  Sometimes it simply means they are strong enough to face their problems.

No matter how chaotic the past has been, the future is a clean, fresh, wide open slate. You are not your past habits. You are not your past failures. You are not how others have at one time treated you. You are only WHO YOU THINK you are right now in this moment. You are only WHAT YOU DO right now in this moment.

Who are you, today?  What are you doing in this moment?

top: thrifted | purse: Mimiboutique.com | shoes: Steve Madden 

23 thoughts on “It’s okay.

  1. I thanked you for this post already but it required me to come back again to remind myself the sun will shine again. I was thinking yesterday if people think I’m always happy because I get dressed and blog. That smile is for the camera. What I really think about most days is what the upcoming holiday will beer like without my Granny. What next year will be like. I miss her so very VERY much! I know someday I’ll be stronger for it. I’ve decided to join the fight against Alzheimer & arthritis in her memory but the pain..oh the pain of losing her!

  2. I’m a day late in the discussion but God knows I needed this word for today. I just love it when He uses social media to tell me “I’m still Here” he knows I wouldn’t be in church or reading my bible right now LOL. I’m in the middle of the storm of my life and someday I dunno if I’m gonna make it to another, and God remind me of the Lord’s prayer “give us TODAY our daily bread” I dunno what lies ahead tomorrow but TODAY I stand!

  3. You look gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. Love the black ensemble very chic. And now on to your powerful words: I needed to hear this today. I am in the battle of my life and still learning how to be a warrior. I am more than a conqueror, but sometimes I forget, so I am standing strong while the tornado and storm swirls around me. When you have done everything…you just stand. Thank you for the encouragement

  4. I’m very young but I’ve been following your blg for a very long time! I love your post and you’re very inspiring. Thanks a lot. I wish you the best

  5. Very nice understated look.

    What I am today is someone who is content with her life but realize that she can do a bit more. Go a bit further. Be a bit more focused. And right now she is typing all of this while at work. Shhh.

  6. Leslie you are looking too cute and I love and agree 100% on your post. Oh yeah and she did just have a baby lol I saw the little bundle 🙂

  7. 1) The woman in this photo did not just give birth. I refuse to believe it. You pulled a Beyonce and had a surrogate didn’t you?!
    2) Your hair is amazeeeeee!
    3) It really is okay to fall apart for a little while, the current man in my life allows for that to happen and doesn’t expect me to be strong and in control ALL the time. I’m praying he’s around for a while…

    1. HAHAHA! Betta believe it Honey! I’m getting better at disguising my “situations”.

      A good man, a good person for that matter, will be by your side when you have your snotty messy not so cute moments.

    2. @EbonyCPrincess, I was thinking the same thing….didn’t she just have a baby…how does she look that great already? WOW!!!

      I know a few people that put on a facade of being happy and like they haven’t a care in the world. Eventually things came to a head and they just exploded. We need to realize that feeling sorrow, sadness, anger and pain are normal human emotions and what helps us to heal and grow.

      This was such a great post!!!

Join the discussion

