Smile At Perfect Strangers!

Don’t wait for people to smile. Show them how.

Let your guard down. Talk to someone you don’t know straight from your heart. Compliment them. Don’t anticipate awkwardness. Just be you in that beautiful way only you know and give them the chance to smile and connect with you.

The more you smile at others, the more others will smile at you. And life’s a lot more pleasant when everyone around you is smiling. Be blessed!

{sunnies: Target | tee: Hanes | shorts: 7 for all mankind DIY | heels: Colin Stuart | bag: thrifted}

24 thoughts on “Smile At Perfect Strangers!

  1. There’s something about a white tee that’s just so effortlessly cool, and I love how you added a feminine, edgy feel with your accessories. Also, I agree with you: Smiling has serious power to change your day as well as that of those around you.

  2. I like this! I give out truthful compliments as often as I can. Sometimes, it cracks me up to see the look on the recipient’s face! They look so confused, but I just know that inside, they’re smiling even if they don’t smile back. I also make it a point to say hello to and smile at the meanest person on my job. I’m convinced they’re just a big old teddy bear! 🙂

  3. Les, I love how curvy your hips look in these shorts! Werk it, tweak it!!!
    I agree with your post 100%. I get so many crazy stares when I speak to random people but I do it anyway. I honestly believe its a demographic thing. Some places welcome hellos but other places, people just want to mind their business and they want you to do the same. It takes more facial muscles to frown than it does to smile!

  4. Looking great:). It’s always a little weird when you smile at someone and they seem to ignore you. I just try not to take it personal. You never know what someone is going through.

  5. I love what you’ve said and will use this to challenge myself. I’ve had strangers come up to me and say “smile” or “why do you look so angry/sad”. My outer appearance doesn’t always match what I’m feeling inside. So I’ll challenge myself to smile more and be the first to say hello. Lastly, you look great!

  6. I love to make someone’s day by giving them a compliment. Sometimes I can get “scared” but then the ten seconds of courage comes through and we both walk away smiling!

  7. Key words in your post —> Don’t anticipate awkwardness! I learned this at a very crucial time in my life. It’s much easier to smile and be pleasant than to work at being distant with tude!

  8. I always make a point to teach my Godkids how important it is for other to see them happy. You never know who is watching you from across the room and falling in love w your smile.

  9. Oh my dear Leslie, you speak from the heart. These are some thing I don’t fail to do, smile, say hi to people or even strike up a friendly conversation. As Christian, that’s also a way to minister to someone. You never know, that smile may makes somebody’s day. That friendly conversation may help someone who is going through something.
    Thank you my dear, be encourage!

  10. Ow sexy mama! Looking good for having a newborn. You def bounce back quick. As far as your post so true! I totally think like that. And I always tell my younger cousins & jaded friends how you don’t lose anything by being nice, looking someone in the eye and/or saying hello. If they aren’t being rude its just common courtesy. In LV there are a lot of homeless or downtrodden people I see often & I have no problem saying hello or speaking to them. But you know me, I like to talk to people =D

  11. Ain’t that the truth! I love giving compliments. I can’t help it. I say what I am thinking all the time…ok most of the time…i don’t always think good thoughts LOL. I do smile ALOT 😀 You look lovely as usual Sis!

  12. Truer words were never spoken! I saw a young lady with a lovely hair style today. I wanted to compliment her but nearly psyched myself out. I did it, anyway, and we shared a genuine smile. I enjoy issuing compliments to strangers 🙂

Join the discussion

