Run that by me again…

Rewind to a recent post where I shared with you that I was diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes…well, I left that appointment a little discouraged, but motivated at the same time to get the fam on a healthier diet which would mean cutting out the sugar, fast foods, and eating out as much.  From what I understood, all I needed to do was change what I was eating and I’d be fine.

Fast forward to my most recent doctor’s appointment.  After checking the size of Jayde, her heart rate, etc. she sits down and asks if I’ve been monitoring myself.  To which I respond, of course I have.  I’ve changed what I eat and the whole deal.  That’s not what she meant.  She meant if I had been testing my blood by pricking my finger three times a day.  Uh, No!  What part of the game is this?  No one said anything about stabbing myself not once, not twice, but 3 times a day. EVERY. DAY!  Immediately, I began to think about how sore my fingers would be and what if I miss and stab myself in the eye, and what happens when I run out of fingers.  So, doc gives me the referral to see a Dietitian and an Endocrinologist.

I have to remind myself that it could be much much worse, because truly it can be.

Thank you for keeping me in your thoughts and prayers.  I’m 33 weeks now so we’re almost there.

P.S.  Isn’t this new necklace outrageous!?!  You’ll be seeing more of it.  And the bag…I mean I cant.  It’s perfect!  

H A P P Y     M O T H  E R ‘ S      D A Y ! ! !

jean top:  Alloy.com  | necklace: c/o Mimiboutique.com| bag: c/o Mimiboutique.com | shoes:  SrideRite boys | belt: hubby’s

13 thoughts on “Run that by me again…

  1. You will be fine Leslie, I have some friends who had this condition in their pregnancy, and they are fine and the babies. Just eat well, relax and take care. You will be in my prayers my dear! Huge hug!

  2. Dollface. Your little fingers will be fine. I have faith in you. And your eye is pretty far from your finger lok

  3. I know exactly how you feel. I was diagnosed as well and I hate it. The diet doesn’t bother me … Most of the time. It is the finger pricking that drives me nuts. I’m developing calluses. Counting down the weeks…

    1. Oh no, really! It’s only been a short while that I’ve had to do the testing so far and luckily it hasn’t been so bad. Have you thought of trying a different testing device? How far along are you in your pregnancy?

      1. They had me pricking as soon as I was diagnosed. I’m just glad I can control it with diet. I’m 35 weeks. I had my daughter last year at 36 wks and 5 days. So it should have this one around 37 wks… So not much longer to go.

Join the discussion

