Time to “Focus”

So, I think I’m ready to share some of the good news that I’ve been hinting at rather recently.

Last month, I was contacted by the Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of L.A. Focus Newspaper, Lisa Collins. She had left me a message asking for me to call her back. I didn’t have a clue of what she could possibly want. I called her back and she began to share with me some ideas she had, one of which was the fact that she was relaunching the fashion column of her newspaper. She had been wanting to relaunch for a while but hadn’t found someone who she felt was passionate and committed to what this role entailed. Curious about how I made it onto her list, I asked, and she began to share that she had heard of me through, Daven Baptiste, of The God Can Store. You might recall I blogged about the stylish apparel here. Daven had heard about me from a friend of his who just happens to follow my blog. She was an old schoolmate of my husband’s that had befriended him on Facebook and through Facebook, came across my blog. Funny how it all works. Anyways, Lisa went on to tell me that she would love to know if I would be interested in writing her monthly style/fashion column! She probably couldn’t tell how excited I was on the other end of the phone but it was such a huge surprise and quite flattering. I asked her some questions about what exactly she was looking for and she said that I pretty much had full creative freedom to write on whatever I wanted as long as it was fashion/style related. We set up a date to meet and talk more.

When we met she shared more details about the press deadlines and the level of commitment it would require. She also shared one of the cool things about the role was that I’d be forwarded all of the fashion/style related press releases that come in and decide what events to attend. Isn’t that kind of cool? So, of course, I did a little digging and found that the newspaper has a circulation of 35,000 and readership upwards of 140,000. I talked it over with the hubs and he was excited for me. In true husband style, his only concern was making sure that I didn’t over do it with all the other obligations I have. Being the wannabe superwoman I am, I agreed to the task.

So, with that said, if you have or know of any style/fashion related businesses, events, pop-ups, or ventures going on in the L.A. area and you think folks would be interested in reading about them or if you’re interested in ad space, email me at (least two weeks in advance if it’s an event) and leave me all the deets and I’ll do my best to cover it.
sunnies: thrift | jacket: BB Dakota | top: BEBE | jeans: random | boots: modcloth | watch: Merona | bracelet: c/o mimiboutique.com | clutch: c/o mimiboutique.com

fashiondujourdaily@gmail.com

28 thoughts on “Time to “Focus”

  1. Congratulations on your new endeavor! So exciting! BTW, I love everything about this outfit…so so cute!

  2. I am not surprised at all Leslie. Your blog is great and you have an eye for fashion. Blessings in all you do.

  3. What wonderful news!! Congratulations, you are going to do a FABULOUS jon enlightening the world about fashion!! I Love it!! 🙂

  4. Isn’t it funny how God opens doors up for us?! Congratulations on this opportunity! I hear about events from time to time in your area so I will definitely keep you posted. Many, many blessings, my friend!

  5. Great opportunnity and you deserve it! You will do a fabulous job and you will spread your style and lovely words! I’m so happy for you! Blessings and I would like to read this newspaper!

    P.D. I wrote about you in my blog and how you inspire me to start my own, huge hug and thanks for being an inspiration!

    fashionistafueradelaciudad.blogspot.com

  6. I am so happy for you!God is sooooooooooooo good! I’m sure this is a great opportunity. You are an inspiration. CONGRATS!!!!

  7. That’s really great L! You and Maegan are really moving up in the blogging world. I don’t live in LA anymore, but I do still receive event emails. I will certainly let you know. At least for now, I know ouidad is having an event soon for their Santa Monica store. Would you like the details? Let me know…

Join the discussion

