Stripes

So I was dropping off the kids for a couple of hours at my mom’s and the first thing she said to me was, “You’re brave to wear stripes!”  Sweet!  My response, “Well it’s no secret that I’m pregnant, I might as well wear them.”  LOL  

Was I upset?  Not really, I kind of expected it.  My mom is the kind of person who says things and then thinks about saying them in a nicer way after the damage is done.  She’s a very forward and matter of fact woman with her sensitivity filter turned off on most days.  I’ve talked to her about it before because even though my brothers and I know how to respond to her, most people don’t and will think she’s rude or insensitive even though she’s the least of those things.  It’s kind of the running joke in my family that she just says what she has to say and she’s done with it.  Honestly, she’s trying to be more cognizant of it so I applaud her for that.  

So what do you think?  Is it okay for pregnant women to wear stripes?  Would/did you wear stripes during pregnancy?  

jacket: GAP | necklace: c/o Demabiz | sunnies: c/o Mimiboutique | sandals: Steve Madden | bag: LV

30 thoughts on “Stripes

  1. You look AMAZE!! I love the whole outfit… My pregnant days I was lucky enough to fit my own clothes as well, may have wore stripe every now and than but definitely wore color. Not certain if that wads good thing but I did 🙂

  2. I think you rocked the stripes in this outfit and the one with the coral blazer. I have a mum that can be like that sometimes as well so I know exactly what you mean. You are having a lovely pregnancy. Take care.

  3. I am so in love with everything going on in this outfit! I definitely think that it’s okay to wear stripes! I love seeing pregnant women showing off their belly! I love all the outfits you have been putting together during your pregnancy!
    -Nancy
    fanceeenanceee.blogspot.com

  4. You’re pregnant, too! I love it. I used to visit your site all the time and just kind of slacked, but I will definitely come by and check out more now. I can’t wait to see how you rock the pregnancy belly. Oh and yeah, I still wear stripes. I think as long as we’re comfortable, we can wear most of the non-maternity clothes that we want to. Hehe. Take care!

      1. Thank you! 🙂 I’m due end of May, so I think we’re about 4 weeks apart. I’ve been scouring the blogging world for people who are rocking the pregnancy belly with their daily looks so that I can get inspired. I love seeing how people rock the non maternity clothes because I’ve been refusing to switch to maternity clothes (except for tanks and leggings) since I got pregnant. Haha! 🙂

  5. A pregnant woman is such a beautiful vision. I don’t think pregnant women should use billowing clothing to hide the life which is developing in her body.
    You look amazing in your stripes.

    1. I totally agree. I think earlier on in the pregnancy when I couldn’t really see a baby bump and it looks just like I ate too much, I had a tendency to hide it. Now, there’s no hiding it. Jayde is loud and proud!

  6. Q.#1 I think it depends on the woman,but like I said before you carry your baby bump well so you look nice in stripes.
    Q.# 2 I would have to see how much my body would change to wear stripes while pregnant.

      1. In true holographic form! He made a hell of a comeback and performed with Snoop Dogg, plus he performed “Hail Mary”. It was cool and creepy all at once.

        Stay FLYY, Live FLYYER

  7. you look adorable in your stripes…other people may not be able to pull it off but you did. I even like the coral stripe dress you shared with us….. 😉 nothing wrong with experimenting.

  8. You look cute in the stripes!! I wore stripes when I was pregnant and still wear them ;). I try not to confine myself to what people say you should or shouldn’t wear (except the things I know don’t look good on me-lol). Anyhow, I live stripes, especially black and white ones, mixed with a bold color (anything Florescent is my running favorite right now). 😉

Join the discussion

