The Results Are In

I’ve been diagnosed with gestational diabetes.

I was on the fence about sharing this, because I didn’t want to be a drag, but I thought twice because I know that every experience we have, God means for us to learn, grown and share our testimony with others.  My doctor says it’s something that it’s not something that I should be panic about because it can be treated with a change of diet and exercise.  So, I had her fax me as much information she had on the subject and called to make an appointment with an endocrinologist and with that, I begin my journey to overcome gestational diabetes.

What is gestational diabetes:

Pregnant women who have never had diabetes before but who have high blood sugar (glucose) levels during pregnancy are said to have gestational diabetes. It is estimated that gestational diabetes affects 18% of pregnancies.  The cause is not known, but they have some clues. The placenta supports the baby as it grows. Hormones from the placenta help the baby develop. But these hormones also block the action of the mother’s insulin in her body. This problem is called insulin resistance. Insulin resistance makes it hard for the mother’s body to use insulin. She may need up to three times as much insulin.  Gestational diabetes starts when your body is not able to make and use all the insulin it needs for pregnancy. Without enough insulin, glucose cannot leave the blood and be changed to energy. Glucose builds up in the blood to high levels. This is called hyperglycemia.

How does it affect the baby:

Gestational diabetes affects the mother in late pregnancy, after the baby’s body has been formed, but while the baby is busy growing. Because of this, gestational diabetes does not cause the kinds of birth defects sometimes seen in babies whose mothers had diabetes before pregnancy.  However, untreated or poorly controlled gestational diabetes can hurt your baby. When you have gestational diabetes, your pancreas works overtime to produce insulin, but the insulin does not lower your blood glucose levels. Although insulin does not cross the placenta, glucose and other nutrients do. So extra blood glucose goes through the placenta, giving the baby high blood glucose levels. This causes the baby’s pancreas to make extra insulin to get rid of the blood glucose. Since the baby is getting more energy than it needs to grow and develop, the extra energy is stored as fat.  This can lead to macrosomia, or a “fat” baby. Babies with macrosomia face health problems of their own, including damage to their shoulders during birth. Because of the extra insulin made by the baby’s pancreas, newborns may have very low blood glucose levels at birth and are also at higher risk for breathing problems. Babies with excess insulin become children who are at risk for obesity and adults who are at risk for type 2 diabetes

How to treat gestational diabetes:

Because gestational diabetes can hurt you and your baby, you need to start treatment quickly. Treatment for gestational diabetes aims to keep blood glucose levels equal to those of pregnant women who don’t have gestational diabetes. Treatment for gestational diabetes always includes special meal plans and scheduled physical activity. It may also include daily blood glucose testing and insulin injections.  Treatment for gestational diabetes helps lower the risk of a cesarean section birth that very large babies may require. Gestational diabetes usually goes away after pregnancy.  

This means so long to the Jack in the Box 2 tacos for 99 cents, so long to the candy dish at the front desk at work, so long to all my greasy favorites that have been so good to me.  I’m determined to beat this and I’m actually looking forward to my new diet and lifestyle as I know it will not only benefit me, but my husband and kids as well!  So, don’t cry for me Argentina!  LOL  Just say a little prayer that God will take the cravings for all things sugar from my lips.  🙂

Find out more about Gestational Diabetes here.

Jacket: previously owned | sunnies: c/o mimiboutique.com | dress: Forever 21 | jeans: previously owned | booties:  c/o CSN Stores 

26 thoughts on “The Results Are In

  1. I understand what you’re going through. My husband and I have four boys and I had gestational diabetes with the last 3. I was borderline with the first. I am now 41 years of age and battling with numbers that put me right at a pivotal point for type 2 diabetes. I am short, but well within my weight..maybe even slightly under the category…so this is very concerning for me. Let’s keep eachother in prayer. As I understand it, diabetes was conquered on the cross as well!

    1. Thank you for commenting and sharing this. You’re right. My father’s side of the family is diabetic. Ignorantly, I never thought much of it and never thought it was something I needed to concern myself with. I’m believing God that it will go away after Jayde is born and that it’s something that He gives me wisdom to prevent in my older years and for the sake of my kids. I’ll absolutely keep you in prayer. God is a healer! He did it for the woman with the issue of blood and He can do it for us.

  2. Just discovered your site and you are amazing. Remind me of how fly I was when I was preggers. You will be fine and so will the baby. It happens. When I found out I had it and started asking around I was amazed to hear of all the other woman who had it also. It will go away when you have your little one. I think I missed juice and my slurpees more than anything. God bless. It takes alot for our little bodies to make a person. My son was 9 pounds 12 ounces when he was born and that was almost three years ago.

    1. LOL @ Slurpees! Love them! Thank you for your reassurance. I’m beginning to feel like it’s more common than I thought. I sure do miss juice and coffee and and and, but it’s just a few more weeks. Now back to my wheat bread and peanut butter.

  3. Pingback: Queen of Coral «
  4. Father we lift Leslie and the baby’s health up to you. We ask for your healing power to touch them and cause gestational diabetes to disappear so she is able to testify once again of how great You are. We thank you for total health mind, body and soul in Your precious name we pray. Amen! Love & blessings :0)

  5. Your in my prayers…it’s going to take time for you to get use to your new eating habits but once you get use to it you will be fine..god bless you and your family.

  6. My dear, with God blessing you, giving you wisdom, carrying you “through” this challenge, AND the lifestyle changes you are determined to make, it’ll be gone by the time baby arrives, I just know it!! And since I’m the keeper of that candy bowl at work, I’ll be spanking you hands, and looking for some sugar-free alternatives for you! Oh yeah, thank you for MY quote today!!

Join the discussion

