5 Ways to Increase Your Blog Following

I’m always excited when I see an email in my inbox from a name I don’t recognize because it means my blog is serving the purpose intended.  It’s opening the door for me to meet ladies who I wouldn’t have otherwise met, and build relationships.  Recently, I’ve been receiving a lot of email from new bloggers asking for advice and wanting to know some ways to build a following.  These kinds of emails flatter me because I certainly don’t consider myself a pro by any stretch of the imagination, but if I can offer some tips that can be a benefit to someone else, then so be it!  As a reslut of my blogging experience.  Here are some ideas to increase your following.  I should stress that none of these come without effort and all of them will take time:

BLOG FOR OTHERS:

 If your town newspaper has a blog? Write for them. You should also consider the various networking organizations who have montly or weekly newsletters where a spot on fashion would be appropriate.   Having already covered local fashion you can become the go-to blogger for your town’s fashion.

 

TAKE STREET STYLE PHOTOS:

 While we don’t all have the luxury of being able to roam around all day doing nothing but taking pictures of pretty people and pretty things, many of guys and girls who you find in your daily meanderings would absolutely oblige to taking a couple of pictures, especially when you tell them that you’re a fashion blogger impressed by their sense of style.  Always make sure you have something with your name and site to put in their hand like a business card.  There’s a great special on business cards going on now at Young Connection, just in time for your holiday house hopping and the new year. Not to mention it’s a great tool to give your long distance cousin who asks what you’ve been up to lately.  It’s refreshing to see “real” people that are stylish and it’s a great way to meet new people.

 

GO TO YOUR LOCAL SMALL BOUTIQUES:

 Small boutiques and designers in need of press are always happy to collaborate when there’s little cost involved and it means exposure.  Take a stroll to your cutesy local boutique, give them a busines card and tell them your idea to feature their store as one of the neighborhood favorite boutique stores.

REACH OUT TO A LOCAL FASHIONISTA:

 Is there someone in your city or town that is known for herstyle? Reach out to her and interview her. There are so many homegrown style icons in your very own neck of the woods that you won’t have to look far. You might even consider interviewing a girl who may not be your average style mayven but instead just has a unique way about her and is someone you find interesting? Get these girls some recognition.

So, those are just a few ways to attract an audience.  Put them to work and I think you’ll be surprised by the response you get.  Good luck, Girls!

10 thoughts on “5 Ways to Increase Your Blog Following

  1. great tips, sadly or luckily depending on how one looks at it, my blog is all about my travels around the globe. Another tips that also work is to comment on your favorite blogs, it will put you out there and make ppl curious to check out your profile and blog/site.

  2. Thanks a MILLION for this post. I am new to the blogshpere. I just started my blog in June and I would like to increase my following. You have some great ideas, some I have done, and some I will add to my To-Do List (I am a Listmaker to my soul). I love your blog, it is truly inspiring for faith and fashion. My blog is greared towards Fashion and Finance. I wiould love for you to check it out and follow. Thanks again for this post!!!!

    7eventh Letter
    http://whatsmoreimportantthanfashion.com/

  3. Oh sweety thanks of your refreshing ideas!! I need it for my blog! You look so nice in the outfit, like always! Love the hat!! Huge hug!! Blessings!!

  4. Thanks so much for posting this. I ,too, am stuggling with followship as a new blogger. Most of my close friends and family have no idea that I have a blog and I want to keep it that way. My purpose is to network with like minded people. This posting was very helpful.

    1. Hey! I find it interesting that you don’t want your friends and family to know about your blog? Why do you feel that way? I ask because I was like that as well. To this day I haven’t fully explained to my mom that I have a blog. LOL I’ve become more comfortable with talking about it with people over time, but it’s still something that I deal with. My hangup is that I don’t ever want it to come across as this self gratifying website for people to come and look at how “beautiful” I am. Honestly, that’s NOT what it’s about but if you don’t take the time to read the posts, chances are you’ll get the wrong impression. Not only that, I feel like it opens the door to criticism. I can go on and on, but more importantly I was curious to hear why you don’t share with your close friends and family.

Join the discussion

