A Few Things I Wish Someone Would Have Told Me When I was 18

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway…

sunnies: 99 store | ears: POParazzice | ring: Target | top: random | belt: borrowed from a jumper | jeans: unknown (T) | shoes: Rocket Dogg

Commit yourself to making lots of mistakes. – Mistakes teach you important lessons.  The biggest mistake you can make is doing nothing because you’re too scared to make a mistake.  So don’t hesitate – don’t doubt yourself.  In life, it’s rarely about getting a chance; it’s about taking a chance.  You’ll never be 100% sure it will work, but you can always be 100% sure doing nothing won’t work.  Most of the time you just have to go for it!  And no matter how it turns out, it always ends up just the way it should be.  Either you succeed or you learn something.  Win-Win.  Remember, if you never act, you will never know for sure, and you will be left standing in the same spot forever.

People are not mind readers.  Tell them what you’re thinking.– People will never know how you feel unless you tell them.  Your boss?  Yeah, he doesn’t know you’re hoping for a promotion because you haven’t told him yet.  That cute girl you haven’t talked to because you’re too shy?  Yeah, you guessed it; she hasn’t given you the time of day simply because you haven’t given her the time of day either.   In life, you have to communicate with others.  And often, you have to open your vocal cords and speak the first words.  You have to tell people what you’re thinking.  It’s as simple as tha

Accept and embrace change. – However good or bad a situation is now, it will change.  That’s the one thing you can count on.  So embrace change, and realize that change happens for a reason.  It won’t always be easy or obvious at first, but in the end it will be worth it.

Talk to lots of people in college and early on in your career. – Bosses.  Colleagues.  Professors.  Classmates.  Social club members.  Other students outside of your major or social circle. Teaching assistants.  Career advisors.  College deans.  Friends of friends.  Everyone!  Why?  Professional networking.  I have worked for three employers since I graduated from college (I left my first two employers by choice on good terms), but I only interviewed with the first employer.  The other two employers offered me a job before I even had a formal interview, based strictly on the recommendation of a hiring manager (someone I had networked with over the years).  When employers look to fill a position, the first thing they do is ask the people they know and trust if they know someone who would do well in the position.  If you start building your professional network early, you’ll be set.  Over time, you’ll continue talking to new people you meet through your current network and your network’s reach and the associated opportunities will continue to snowball for the duration of your career.

Sit alone in silence for at least ten minutes every day. – Use this time to think, plan, reflect, and dream.  Creative and productive thinking flourish in solitude and silence.  With quiet, you can hear your thoughts, you can reach deep within yourself, and you can focus on mapping out the next logical, productive step in your life.

Here’s a bonus:  Trust God in all that you do.  When no one else believes in you and no one else cares.  God does.

P.S. I am participating in the Bloggers Do It Better – Color Blocking Challenge .  Take a look at the other girls participating.

13 thoughts on “A Few Things I Wish Someone Would Have Told Me When I was 18

  1. A lot of wisdom in this post!! I love that about your blog!

    And you’re hot in this outfit!! I need me some colored skinnies!! Just saw Prissy in her coral ones and went to your blog and you’re in the electric blue!! Haute!!

  2. I hope what you say about things changing is true. I’m going through so many changes with people that I’ve just about given up. If when you try to talk it over with your partner but all he says is you’re wrong, it doesn’t help.

  3. You look like a superstar 🙂 You know the pictures we see in People magazine when they are being “normal”. Some days I wish I could dress for work in my normal attire. Then I think about the educators whose attire say they don’t care or beach day & the thought quickly leaves. This post (like many others you share) was timely. I remember growing up I’d be devestated if I failed or someone else failed me. Through my moms love, support & guidance I grew up in that area. I stopped holding on to perfection in my own strength. I’m learning to embrace change. You know go with it. GOD always knows about it before it happens. His outcome is always better than what man orchestras! Love networking. It has allowed me to have more than one thing going on besides just my job. I met you..well kinda 😉 Silence really is golden. Xo

Join the discussion

