Dear Modcloth.com …

sunnies: 99 store | jacket: unknown (T) | tee: Mossimo | belt: random | pants: Land's End | shoes: Nine West | bag: LV Speedy 30 | watch: Target

 

I can go on and on about how much I value GOOD customer service.  I can say even more about how I think it’s a lost art form…but I’m sure you don’t want to hear about that now do you.

Anyways, the other day I was nothing short of ecstatic after an experience at the hands of the sweet and caring, Kate at Modcloth.  The story goes a little something like this…

I ordered a BB Dakota jacket (which, by the way, is TO. DIE. FOR!) while shopping online recently.  I had been eyeing it for quite a while and when I saw the price drop, I pounced.  It was fate.  It had to be.  It was the last jacket in stock and just happened to be my size.  Come on, when does that happen.  Anyways, I was excited.  When the package arrived, I tore open the box and drooled over the jacket just long enough to create 10 head to toe outfits in my head and make sure the exterior hanging tag read the right size.  I didn’t get a chance to try it on right away because I was all messy doing mommy stuff.  So, I swooned for all of five seconds before neatly placing the jacket back in the plastic and back in the box.  Mommy-mode GO!  Later that night, I took the jacket upstairs and hung it up in anticipation of the most opportune time to wear it.

Whuddya know, that moment of opportunity was a couple days later when the hubs and I went on a double date to Kincaid’s (if I had to live in a restaurant for the rest of my life…).  I wore these black leggings, a black cami and these black riding boots.  Why no pictures?  Well, I didn’t realize until after we were at Kincaid’s that my batteries were dead.  lovely.  I digress, so I didn’t notice any real fit problem when I put the jacket on, I guess I blame that on my excitement.  A few days later I pulled the jacket out and tried it on again.  Only this time, I noticed that the interior size tag said large and it did fit a little funny?  I knew I had ordered a small (a) because that’s what the outside tag said, (b) that’s what my invoice said and (c) I never order large.  However, I checked my email invoice to make a thousand percent sure that I didn’t make an ordering error (which wouldn’t have surprised me).  I didn’t.  I was relieved until I realized I’d now have to go through email after email of getting this corrected and ultimately not even know if I’ll be able to get the right size since when I ordered the site said I was getting the last item in stock.  Plus, confrontation makes me pee my pants (and yes, I consider this confrontation).  Well, with a click of the mouse, it began.

Modcloth’s site is set up so that you can chat live for immediate assistance during normal business hours.  Unfortunately, I was emailing late at night so I didn’t get to take advantage of that service.  However, I sent a very kind email with an explanation of what happened through their customer service ticketing system and crossed my fingers for a halfway pleasant response.  What I got next was a breath of fresh air.  Kate emailed me the next morning apologizing for my experience and offering solutions to make it right.  She said that the size Small was no longer in stock but she would be more than happy to cover my alteration expenses and was prepared to provide a full refund for my trouble.  Wha..wha…what?  Totally not what I was expecting.  I wanted to reach through the computer and hug her.   I could tell in the tone of her email that she cared and she knew it was a bummer for me that this had happened.  She was being an advocate for me and taking my “clothing crisis” seriously.  I expressed my gratitude and waited for a  refund.  The next thing you know, I see another email from Kate.  She says that they were able to locate a size Small jacket and they were going to ship it out to me overnight.  She went on to say that I could keep the large jacket that was shipped to me in error as again she understood that this was time out of my day and therefore inconvenient.  She had emailed me the tracking number for the new shipment and was continuously apologetic for my experience.  How’s that for STELLAR customer service?

The Hero of the Day award goes to Kate and the customer service training team at Modcloth who allow their customer servicing team the autonomy to make the best choice to ensure repeat business and good customer relations.

I know it’s just clothes we’re talking about here, but it’s experiences like this that make me want to do my job just that much better.

Thanks for hearing me out.  By the way…went to their site today and almost passed out.  Feast your eyes on this, my friends….and this, and this, and this, and this and this.

By the way…if you’re wondering what I’m going to do with the size large jacket, stay tuned…

 

10 thoughts on “Dear Modcloth.com …

  1. The pants, the jacket ohhhh weee…I like them so much. But more importantly I like you love a pleasant shopping experience anywhere. I’ve been visiting their site quite a bit. Just haven’t ordered anything but it appears that if I do it’ll be a wonderful experience if any error occurs.

  2. Thats what I’m talking about!! Great customer service!! Gotta love it.
    Those wedges are just too fab (and different)…I love that jacket!! OH MY!! Also, I am loving the color of those pants!!

  3. What are you a special customer? I never get service like this. I don’t order clothes online because a bra came in the size I ordered years ago and didn’t fit. I always have to try clothes on to make sure they fit, can never just grab a piece in my size. I have experienced nice salesgirls but some awfully rude ones too. I just think they must not like their job.

    1. Hahhaha! Nope not a special customer. I’ve only purchased one other thing from there, some shoes. I got lucky! :-). It’s sad when you have to work with someone who clearly hates their job. It makes me feel bad.

  4. Great customer service makes any shopping experience great! I was eyeing that blazer too 😉 From the review section on the bag I can tell they have great service, not too many companies leave comments on that part. There were a few pieces I really liked but do they fit pretty true to size as far as tops? Bottoms like pants and shorts are tricky everywhere so I stay clear of those.

    1. Isn’t that blazer hot! Modcloth caries a lot of different brands and as we know fit can be different from brand to brand. I usually only buy shoes and tops online. I steer clear of pants. I miiiiight get a skirt or two.

Join the discussion

