The Truth Is…


sunnies: 99 store | ears: F21 | jacket: old | belt: old | top: dress DIY'd into a shirt | leggings: random | shoes: Speed Limit 99 | clutch: Urban Outfitters | ring & watch: Target

I hope you all don’t mind, but I want to “get something off my chest”.  I hate to use that expression because I feel like it carries a negative connotation but, for lack of a better expression….  It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while, but every time I sit down to put my thoughts on paper, so to speak, I haven’t been able to clearly articulate what it is that I’m trying to say.  I’ve been experiencing a lot of articulation challenges lately, so bear with me, Friends.

Here we go…rewind to the beginning of the year.  I decided I wanted to refocus this blog and make it more about what matters most in my life.  As you might have guessed, I’m very passionate about this fashion thing so I wasn’t ditching fashion, but fashion’s not my life.  There’s more to me, as there is to each of us.   So, I tweaked the direction to offer you a peek into the windows of my life.  My attempts both here and on FASHIONdujourdaily TV have revealed mostly the good, some of the bad, and rarely the ugly of what goes on behind the scenes on the home front.

Here’s the problem…I feel like I’ve painted a picture of a perfect and stress-free life.  The truth is, just like life happens to you, it happens to me too.  I ave experienced those earth-shattering events that no one should have to endure.  When I look in the mirror, I see cellulite, blotches, flab flaws that I wish I could change.  I have made bad choices that I’ll regret till the day I die.  I have family drama.  I’ve had days when I don’t have a dollar in my pocket or a drop of gas in my tank.  I’ve had days when I don’t feel like getting out of bed.  I’ve had days when the fear of my dreams makes me not want to go to bed.  I’ve had days when I don’t like the person staring back at me when I catch a glimpse of my reflection in the glass.  I’ve had days when I wonder if people will remember me when I’m gone.  And I have just plain old bad days.  But even still, through it all, I know that my good days far outweigh my bad days.  I have so incredibly much to be thankful and grateful for and so I don’t believe on dwelling on nor giving power to the negative things in my life that I cannot change as this is the breeding ground for discouragement.  Rather, I’ve made a conscious effort to share with you mostly the good times. After all, the media does a good enough job of beating us down from every angle, every day, all day.

The reason I felt it was important to mention this is that I get heaping handfuls of emails and comments from readers all over the world (still blows my mind) expressing how much they wish they could have the “effortless” life, wonderful husband, beautiful children, etc., that I have and I can’t help but think that coupled with these desires there must be some thread of discontent in their lives as they know it and my happy, carefree, “effortless” posts only adds another string to the bow of despondency.  Why do I think this?  Because I’m guilty of it too.  When I flip through my favorite blogs, at times I find myself longing to have whatever it appears they have, and taking for granted all that I already have.  Discouragement begins to seep in.  It’s not a good feeling.  So, this is me setting the record straight.  I put my pants on one leg at a time just like you and I’m living the best life I can the best way I know how.  My prayer is that through my experiences and lessons learned I can help encourage readers to Christ and to become better women, mothers, wives, friends, and sisters.

One final thought, and really the thing that motivated me to finally sit down and birth this baby (this blog post that is), was a Friend to Friend commentary titled, “The Tool of Discouragement”.  What resonated with me was the following passage:

The valleys in life are lined with disappointment and discouragement. Some people seem to thrive on adversity, emerging from their valley with greater strength and deeper faith. Others stumble and fall, giving in to discouragement and dropping out of the race. The difference in outcome is determined by the way we choose to handle discouragement.

We must respond to each valley with trust and faith. The word “trust” means “to lie helpless, face down” and is the picture of a servant waiting for his master’s command or a soldier yielding himself to a conquering general. “Heart” refers to “the center of one’s being.” In other words, to trust God completely means that from the very center of our being, from the very core of our existence, we trust Him, totally abandoning ourselves in childlike faith to Him and His plan. We come to God, holding nothing in our hands, with one word in our heart – “whatever!” Whatever You want me to do, Lord, I will do. Whatever You want me to say, Lord, I will say. Whatever You want me to think, Lord, I will think. Whatever path You have for me, Lord, I will walk.”

If you are like me, you sometimes think you don’t have enough faith. The amount of faith is not nearly as important as the right kind of faith – faith in God alone. Faith does not rest on what we have done, but on what Christ has already done on the cross and in our lives. Faith builds on the victories of yesterday to help us face the valleys of today and the storms of tomorrow. Faith does not bypass pain. It does, however, empower us to deal with pain. Faith steps up to the bat and invites the opponent to throw his best pitch. Sometimes faith strengthens us, and other times, surprises us. Great faith is forged in the deepest valleys, beginning where our strength and power end.

Talk about edification!  Enough of my blubbering, now, get out there and make it a great day!

Oh, in other news, I’m finally ready to tell you the little blog ideas I’ve been playing with.  This post was far too lengthy for me to top it off with this, so stay tuned.

36 thoughts on “The Truth Is…

  1. If I had to count the number of years I spent thinking the grass was greener on the other side for those who weren’t single moms, married, watching their bank accounts and dreading the mailman’s run. I’m free. Not totally but you will find me reminding myself and others that peace of mind is priceless. I’ll take it over the best clothes, car and awful relationship. I need to bookmark this post and reflect from time to time when I start comparing my life to others. I’m so late commenting on the look since we are experience 91 degree weather here in Florida but it rocks. Seems comfortable and effortless.

    1. These are just a pair of zipper leggings. You can find them pretty much anywhere these days I think. Check out your local H&M or F21, they’ve got TONS!!! Happy Hunting, Sweetie!

  2. Wow Les this was really transparent and commendable…you are a beautiful person inside and out..flaws and all..keep shining, helping others, and as always putting God first! In Jesus name!

  3. One question….”What articulation challenges do you seem to be facing?” There were none evident in this blog!

    This was well-timed, and well-delivered. I felt your heart, and saw a piece of God’s heart in you. I am humbly reminded to trust God implicitly and simply…with the reckless abandon of a little girl who loves her Daddy. Thanks for sharing!

    1. LOL! I feel like when I was younger I had such a knack for articulating the thoughts in my head. These days things kinda just get stuck and come out semi-formulated. I’m so glad what came out meant something for you. Trust in God!

  4. First of all, this was a very heartfelt post. I, myself, experience the same feelings. I look at other people’s lives (on blogs) & then my mind starts wondering. Then I snap back into reality, and realize that no one is perfect. To me, blogging gives me an outlet to talk about the good things that are happening in my life. If I already have drama or misfortunes in my home life, why bring that negativety to my blog? My blog is my happy place! There is nothing wrong with that. To most people, it looks like we (bloggers) live a glamourous life, but they dont know the struggles we are going thru daily. We are human, just like them. I love this post & I’m glad you wrote it.

    Now on to the outfit, I think you look simply fabulous! Anytime a pair of shoes like this is worn, it just adds something extra to the outfit. Also, will you add that clutch to your store or better yet, just mail it to me!! Thanks! LOL

    Prissy

  5. Thanks. I take the good with the bad. I’m glad you wrote you don’t have a perfect life. It’s better to help others like that. The thing I have to remember when I see others with more than me is to remember what Jesus said, Why think about those who have more when there are so many with less.

    1. You’re right. If I had never been through anything and my life was just a walk in the park, then what good would I be to anyone else. I could never add any value to anyone’s life. So, I thank God for my experiences. We have to take it all with a grain of salt and thankful for what we have.

  6. Often times people are quick to ‘judge’ a situation because they are on the outside looking in. Last night when I went on a date, with an old beau he said you are always so happy. And it made me think the way you are…what in the ???? I was with my 5 yr old twin God daughters at Madagascar Live all day, I had a headache, gas cost me $50, I spent $80 on lunch because my mom had to go to Pappadeaux, my ends were split, I didn’t have time to change, and I had a tummyache 😦 and that’s just yestarday’s antics, not the every day life stuff that never leaves. Anyhoo, I ma saying this to say that the way you carry yourself dearie with grace and strength lends itself to you having it all figured out. And I don’t think there is anything wrong with that…

    1. Watching and judging from the curb always feels better than actually crossing the street, but you’ll never get anywhere if you just watch and judge. So this old beau….is he trying to work his way back into the picture? LOL Kids have such a good sense for emotions. It sounds like you had a very good day. 🙂 A nice lunch with a loving mom. A car to put $50 worth of gas into. How cute 5 yr old twins. A handful I’m sure but so precious. Thank you.

  7. This was a heartfelt post and you looked great delivering it. When we are with our own thoughts, behind the computer, we are free to wander into the world of blogs. It’s easy to see the good because that’s primarily why we come. I love that you’ve shared this with your readers to show that behind the beauty and fashion is a real person with feelings like the rest of us. 🙂

    Love you in blogness

    1. You know what’s funny? Most times when we’re in our safe place behind the computer blog surfing, we’re also in our day old sweats, our hair is out of control, we’re eating junk…and then we see all these beauty queens and feel sorry for ourselves. LOL Maybe it’s just me.

  8. PREACH, GIRL!!!!! I am with you on this! My last two blog posts have hit on what I am going through in my life. I didn’t get too personal or go into details, but I needed to let folks know, it is not all online shopping, playing dress up, and mani/pedi’s. We are in this world; Ambassadors of the Kingdom, but that doesn’t mean that when it rains, we don’t get wet. Be blessed and keep looking good!

    1. You don’t even want to know how broke I’d be if I was spending money on mani/pedis and “lunching” all day. LOL The blog world is so often not reality. Yup, when I rains we certainly get wet, and sometimes drenched.

Join the discussion

