Proud

blazer: Alfani (T) | tee: old | capris: Jones New York | shoes: Colin Stuart | watch: Michael Kors | ears: F21 | sunnies: 99 store

For those of you who don’t know, my Husband, Jonathan, can “SANG”. Not “sing”…SANG! He’s got a great natural gift and has just recently started to be more confident about it. Some say he has a little bit of that John Legend tone. To me, he doesn’t sound like anyone I’ve ever heard.  Every time I hear him sing it’s like I’m hearing him for the first time.  I really didn’t know he could sing until about 6 years ago, right around the time I joined his father’s church.  Come to find out, he was the Minister of Music.  I laugh, because he tells me that he literally just picked the mic up one day and began singing.  Umm, hello,who does that?  If I picked up a mic and started singing, believe me, you would very quickly want me to put the mic back down.  Not cute.  Anyways, I had no clue he could sing and he didn’t make a big deal about it.

Why am I tell you all of this?  Well, my amazing Jonathan stepped out on faith this past Saturday and auditioned for BET’s Sunday Best. Did I mention that Jonathan has never had any formal training? Did I mention that he first picked up a microphone just six years ago. By industry standards he’s an amateur so he was going against the odds just by auditioning. Not only did Jonathan make it into round one, but he made it into round two. Not only did he make it into round two, but he made it into the third and final round. Out of nearly 1,000 men and women to audition that day, he along with a mere 80 others was left standing for a final audition in front of Donnie McClurkin and Tina and Erick Campbell the sisters that make-up the sensational gospel duo Mary Mary. Amazing! Of this small group only 20 were selected to move forward to Atlanta.  Although he didn’t get to the next stage, isn’t it crazy that he got as far as he did?  We have this saying at my church “the anointing makes the difference” and I’m here to tell you that indeed it does.

I hope you enjoy this clip of him singing Marvin Sapp’s “He Saw the Best in Me” at church.  This was a day after the competition, so he was a little hoarse but he still sounded AWESOME.

P.S.  I was fidgeting with the settings on my camera that’s why my pictures came out crazy.  If anyone wants to volunteer and be my photographer that would be fantastic.  LOL!

P.P.S.  I thought I was going to have to call 911 today.  I felt SOOOOO bad.  Throbbing eyes, nauseous, cold sweat.  YUCKY!  I feel a million times better.  Thank God!

33 thoughts on “Proud

  1. Congratulations! We both know the favor of GOD will allow us to go to places that we don’t even dream of. Your love for HIM radiates here on your blog. Keep expecting the best. Love the vibe of the church. As a PK, I miss the cushioned pews, choir robes and Bishop decked out in his attire. Thanks for sharing this moment. The outfit is too cute. If only I looked good in capris/cropped pants..no go for me but I just might give it another shot if I find some at a thrift store that fit well.

    1. Yes, yes yes! We are in expectancy and just being patient in the meantime. My hubs is a PK and so is his mom. Do you have a church home? I love our intimate church, although we’re quickly outgrowing it! By the way, I didn’t start wearing capris/cropped pants until recently. I always felt like they accentuated my knock-kneededness (is that a word).

  2. AMAZING oufit! Loving the mix of print in the pants with the bright blazer… so chic!! AND.. WOW!! Your husband has a great voice! CHILLLS! I have always secrectly wished hubby could sing. Lucky girl, hehehe! , I know he makes you proud! 🙂

  3. Wow! Congratulations to you and your hubby for making it that far. I know that his voice makes a great sermon ending chu-uch type feeling, lol! Sorry, I grew up in the South where the pastor singing a little bit towards the end gives a soul stirring feeling. I may have to drop by the church one day…

  4. Clearly I am slow and the link would not pull up…I LOVE JL and won’t even begin to bother you with all of my pics of us together 🙂
    Yay for the hubs stepping out on faith and trying out that is TOTALLY AWESOME.

  5. I didn’t even know Jonathan could SANG!! Sunday’s Best is one of my favorite TV shows!! I hope they show him in the third round when it airs!! such star power in this family!! Blessings to you all!!

    1. LOL! Yep, my baby can SANG! We’ve been watching Sunday Best every season. When I went to see him audition I got to sit next to Chrystal Aiken. She shared her now and laters with me. LOL

  6. Behind every good man their is a great lady! God has so much more inshore for tge two of you! I see tge holy spirit is raining upon your lives!

  7. I love the enthusiasm in your voice when you speak about Jonathan. I just ADORE that. You two are so precious! AND… I did hear his clip– my jaw hit the floor. I had no idea. I heard stories from your wedding, but really was in awe when I heard him “SANG”. Go head Mr. Jonathan! Give him my Congrats, and you two keep living the life God has led you to lead!!! (and get better…) P.S. Love the Blazer!!

    1. Yes, yes, yes. I’m just so proud of him. The excitement and confident I heard when he told me he was advancing to the next stage was priceless. Oh yes, he did sing at our wedding. 🙂 How’d I get so lucky!

  8. First of all, liking the outfit 🙂
    Those pants are funky. It’s really cool how you paired them w/ the bright blazer.
    You do an amazing job of putting pieces together.

    Okay. Now to comment on that voice of your hubby’s- It is really awesome! I’m
    so surprised that he didn’t make it to the very final round. He has a beautiful gift
    and it’s always heartwarming to me, to see someone use their God-given talents
    to glorify His name.

    1. Thanks I was on the fence with this outfit. I just went with it.

      Thank you so much Nikki. I am just in awe of how God uses him. He’s got a beautiful spirit and heart to match.

  9. Proud, you should be… Great voice! I think you should post this on both your blog and youtube. He should be heard by as many people as possible. He’s truly Blessed!
    And we can’t forget about your cute outfit!

  10. What an awesome experience that must have been for him. His voice is beautiful, he sounds as good as any recording artist selling records today. What a wonderful gift to have and share. I love when you can tell a person’s music is coming from a sincere, anointed place and his truly is.

  11. I cant watch the video @ work, but CONGRATS to him for making it as far as he did!!!!! I know you must be proud =)

  12. Congrats to you & Jonathan! What a treat it is to even make it as far as he did. Annoited indeed! Off to watch the clip of him sangin’.

  13. Awww congrats to your hubby. He’s got a great voice. Certain parts of the song I could hear his tone sounding like John Legend a tad bit. Wishing him luck and will be keeping my fingers crossed.

Join the discussion

