Lights, Camera, Action

 

 

 

 

vest: Merona | shirt: unknown (T) | belt: borrowed from a jumper | pants: Old Navy | shoes: H&M | watch: Merona | necklace: made by friend

 

I know this may sound crazy, but I get butterflies and sweaty palms every time I have to speak in public in any capacity.  It probably seems like I would be a natural and it would be a breeze, but that couldn’t be further from the truth.  I can do a camera, even a video camera, all day, but put me in a room full of people…judging me…I freak out.  I think it’s moreso that I read into the expressions on people’s faces and when I see even the least bit of disapproval, I completely lose confidence and want to curl up in a ball.

The other day, I had a great opportunity to do a presentation in front of a room of my peers.  I knew the material like the back of my hand, but I didn’t get a ton of time to practice and so I was afraid of making a mistake.  It turned out better than I thought, although there were points I wanted to mention that I completely forgot.  During the presentation I found myself drifting off and losing focus.  Apparently, no one else noticed because no one said anything.  My pals said I did a great job.  Times like these it feels good to be lied to.  LOL

5 thoughts on “Lights, Camera, Action

  1. I have that fear too… Not really a fear, but I dread speaking in front of people (even though I’d go on and on in front of my friends), but put me in front of a Camera… Vrooooooom!!! Off I go! I think I like you. 🙂
    Plus, I’m my own worst critic. It’s bad.

  2. That’s interesting because your writing flows smoothly. I say if you speak the way you write your audience won’t be bored at all 🙂 and I’M NOT LYING! I can’t get enough of black and white. I’m motivated to try and add a pop of color to it now that we are headed into spring but I sure don’t plan to give it up. It is my quick go to especially since I have alot of it in my closet.

  3. We’re always so much harder on ourselves than anyone else is. Even if you did lose focus for a minute, how would it help you then or in the future for people to bring it to your attention if they even noticed? And look what happened: you did even better than you thought you would! Yay!

Join the discussion

