Memory Lane

 

 

 

 

jacket: Zara basics | blouse: Apostrophe | belt: old| jeans: Level 99 | shoes: Steve Madden | necklace: Valentine's Gift | Sunnies; 99 cent store

I don’t listen to the radio much these days.  I typically listen to KJLH on Sunday’s but that’s about it.  Kind of recently I began listening to Pandora from my iPhone at work.  I figured out how to create stations etc. but prior to that, I just listened to whatever would play.  So, I was listening to some music and they started playing hits from the 90’s when I was in my early teens.  It’s funny how certain songs have a way of triggering memories.  Let’s recap some of my silly memories, shall we…

I must have been about nine when “All I do is think of you” by Troop came out.  My brothers and I shared a room which of course gave me an all access pass to snooping through all of my older brother’s really cool stuff.  I hit the jackpot because I found his shoe box of mixed tapes he had made.  That was way back when to you had to make a mixed tape by spending hours in front of the radio waiting for your favorite songs to come on so you could hurry up and press record and play just in time.  And it was death to whomever came into the room and interrupted the process.  I’m getting a little annoyed thinking about it now.  LOL  I’m kidding.  I won’t even mention how when the tape would get stuck in the player I would have to wind it back up with a pencil.  LOL! Where was I?  Oh yes, I found his box of mixed tapes and inside was a mixed tape of Troop.  I popped that bad boy in and was instantly captivated.  I remember listening to this song over and over and over again over the course of several days and writing the lyrics down so that I could memorize them for my live performance on stage.  Stage = big wooden table in directly across from a huge window.  So, I finally memorized all of the lyrics (yes I still know them today) and held my solo concert (with zero attendees) on that table.  It was hysterical.  I’ll have you know that I did the exact same thing with Lisa Stansfield’s “Been Around the World” thank you very much.

When I was in high school I vividly remember sitting in the passenger seat of a Honda Accord as this kid attempted to woo me with his so called rapping talents while he played his mixed tape of Bone Thugs-N-Harmony’s “First of the Month”.  That was when all that “fast-rapping” for lack of a better term was hot.   I had no clue what in the world they were saying.   I remember thinking how pathetic it was and where I could been better spending my time.  I do remember that the guy had really nice handwriting though.  LOL

In college, TLC’s “Scrubs” was the hit.  Of course the guys hated it when us girls would drive by blaring this song especially when one of the guys was in the “passenger side trying to holla at me”  LOL  I couldn’t resist.  It was one of those summertime songs that started an instant dance party no matter where you were.  The Hubs remembers those days.  He hated “Scrubs” but at least he wasn’t in the passenger side.  LOL

And who can forget SWV’s infamous “I Get So Weak”.  I made it a personal goal of mine to memorize all of the words to the hook on this song.  Even when I hear it today, I can’t pass up the opportunity to sing it out loud (or in my head depending on who’s around) just to make it known that I still got it.  LOL

It’s so fun to reminisce about the past.  So tell me, what songs send you through that time warp?   

 

13 thoughts on “Memory Lane

  1. Love, love, love this post. I am always posting hits from the 80s and 90s on my blog, Twitter and FB accounts. My favorite was Jodeci’s “Forever My Lady”, Shai “Comforter” and Soul II Soul “Back to Life”. I could go on and on. My oldest sister and I shared a room, we would listen to the Quiet Storm on the radio. I still listen to stations that pump these hits 🙂 I don’t wanna grow up!

  2. This post just made me realize how old I am. I was in college when “All I Do is Think of You” came out! And I believe I was just about finished with law school when “First of the month” wad popular. LOL!
    I remember my freshman year in college En Vogue came out with “Hold On” & Soul II Soul had “Back to Life”. When either one would come on the radio (we only had one station in Tuskegee) everyone on the Yard would turn it up & you could hear it coming out of all the female dorms. Too funny!

  3. old school hiphop from the 90s were the best…..more fun and tolerable lyrics as supposed to the current cheap arse nonsense that have sexual innuendos and demeaning words about women, black women in particular. You already mentioned some of my favorites, TLC and SWV. I also remember when the Fugees album came out in junior high and how we were sneaking out of class listening to it. Lauryn Hill, Maxwell, TLC, Biggy, Tupac, Nirvana, Shania Twain, No Doubt, 112 were my favorites mixed in with Jazz and rock & roll classics.

  4. I think I’m a little loopy. I looked at the tag in my jacket and it’s a Zara basics. I purchased it at a sample sale though, that’s why I originally listed it as sample. Forgive and my feeble mind. LOL

  5. Jon hates “No Scrubs,” huh? I remember buying that very CD, “Fan Mail,” from him. And we made a dance routine for one of the songs and practiced in he hallway at my dorm. Silly girls & good times! College… so many songs (Busta Rhymes, The Ruff Ryders, Missy) and so many memories, lol.

  6. Oh my gosh you bought back so many memories. Funny, I was like 18 or 19 when All I do came out. Lol. Good times. Those were all great songs… Loved me some SWV and TLC.

    I can’t stand to listen to the music on the radio anymore. It’s strictly Pandora or Heart and Soul on Sirius when I’m in the car. Music has definitely changed…and in my opinion not for the better. There’s a handful of newer artists out now that I love…Chrisette Michelle (but not a fan of the latest album), Corinne Bailey Rae…Ok…guess I can only think of two. Lol

    And again….you with the cute jacket and the necklace goes so perfectly with the outfit. I’m crossing my fingers and hoping I’ll see that one on the shop page soon. Lol.

  7. That’s funny. Music from the 90’s always brings me so much joy. Been around the world is one of those songs that whenever I hear it..I am immediately taken back to my high school days and great memories! I love when music does that to you! I wonder if today’s kids will have that same effect considering the quality of music today.

  8. Girl, skip fixing the tape with a pencil…what do you know about putting a strip of tape on the top of an actual store bought tape you didn’t want so you could record over the music. LOL…you made no mention of BBD “Poison” is my joint and whenever I am out and it comes on everyone knows I will perform (as I did last weekend in Vegas). I lLOVED Tevin Campbell so much I begged a local record store for the stand up they had and walked about 6 blocks trying to carry it. The Boys, “Dial My Heart”. Another Bad Creation, “Playground” and I specifically remember getting in trouble when I was 10 fo singing “I Wanna Sex You Up” I had no clue of what I was singing. 2 funny thanks for the post.

  9. I love your outfit! I’m a big fan of classic/simplistic fashion and you’re doing it in perfection here. In fact I wish those were “my colors” so that I could wear it too, LOL!
    Oh and you definitely got me a blast from the past… I remember sitting in my room in candlelight listening to the radio, and whenever I a song I wanted on my mix tape came on, or a song that I randomly liked, I’d record it. So I ended up with mix tapes full of incomplete songs and songs that the radio host talks into. RAAAH ^^ When I was about 13/14, Eurodance was in full force (I live in Germany), and so Ace of Base or Haddaway take me way back, as everyone listened to them at the time. Pet Shop Boys do that, too, Bryan Adams and Meat Loaf. Those were the days 😉

    http://www.relatablestyle.blogspot.com

Join the discussion

