Hablar Conmigo!

 

top: Merona | pants: Domaine | shoes: Coconuts

 

 

 

 

As you can see, this photoshoot was done “in house”…literally.  I had a ton to accomplish and only an hour to do it.  Blog pictures. Done!  Outfit of the day video.  Done!  Pictures of my recent shoe purchases. Done!  There was something else I did, but of course I don’t remember now what it was.  The good thing is these pictures turned out alright.  I was afraid they’d be too dark and then I’ve have to squeeze in 10 minutes after work before the sun goes completely down to do a re-shoot.

I was having a conversation with myself the other day…what…yes, I was having a conversation with myself. I do that from time to time.  What, and you don’t?  LOL Anyways, so we were talking as I was browsing some of my favorite blogs and as I was jumping from post to post I began to wonder if these bloggers lives are really as glamorous as they look.  You know me and my imagination so in my head, these girls are living it up running around taking pictures, eating at fancy sushi restaurants, taking trips to tropical islands, playing in the closet all day without a care in the world nor a bill to pay.  LOL  Is that reality, or the reality I created in my head?  I’m glad that I can honestly say I’ve come to a point that I no longer envy that lifestyle, but it did make me kind of curious.  I wonder if readers of my blog think the same of me?  I wonder.  Do you guys think I’m rich?  Do you think I’m snobby?  Do you think I’m living up the glamorous life of an L.A. fashion blogger…whatever that means?  More importantly, do you think I’m honest?  Do you think I’m staying true to who and what I say I am in my blog description…a mama, a preacher’s wife, a self proclaimed fashionista…a Christian?  I can pretend and say, “who cares what you think”, but the truth is, I care.  Over the last year, I’ve opened the doors to my closet and life to you and shared some things that (funny enough) I wouldn’t even share with my mom, so of course I care.  I know there are many of you who watch from a distance and don’t actively subcribe to my blog but rather peek in on my from time to time and that’s okay. I’m curious to know what you have to say to.  I may be asking for trouble, but I’m a believer in communication…as evidenced by my conversations with myself.  So, the lines are open. Email me, comment or tweet me. Just curious to know a little about what’s going on in your head since you’ve been playing around in mine for  a while.  You guys are the greatest!

 

 

 

33 thoughts on “Hablar Conmigo!

  1. lol, I love your thoughtful comments/qs with every post. I’m a newbie to your site, but its one of the few I check on a regular basis because you come across down to earth, yet a fashionista who enjoys style and fashion in general. You don’t come across as arrogant or someone trying to project some fake glamorous life style. I rarely read religious oriented blogs, but yours is neither preachy nor overwhelmingly glamor focus.

    About other blogs and if they really live the kind of life they project, some do at a very high cost. Often those of us in the fashion industry or have long history with this superficial world can tell when someone is doing it because they’ve been paid or just a little rich girl who has nothing to add to it. I avoid some of these and we all know who many are. I love fashion blogs that have a mix of every day humanity, humor, life discussion and even a bit of controversy thrown in.

  2. I want to start by saying i can totally relate to the feeling of wanting to have the life of the people i see in the blogs. I too can spend hours looking at my favorite blogs and wondering what their lives are like and wishing i could do the same thing they are doing. Then i look at “reality” and say to myself, nothing is as it seems and you can see people’s glory but you never know there story. So i really dont know what type of life they are living. Everyone has there struggles so i just admire and keep it moving. But to answer your question.. i think that you are beautiful. If your rich, who cares? Clearly God is with you and you are blessed regardless of what you dont have. The thing is just being thankful and i see that you are. I admire your dedication to this blog, your family, and your excellent use of time management. Being a working young woman and a mother it is very easy to get wrapped up in everything else but you. I commend you for that. Being a Christian can be a challenge when you have so many worldly things that can take you off your path so i think you have been doing an awesome job of staying true to your faith, family, and you. God Bless and thank you for the inspiration.

    1. Reality is something else, isn’t it? Even crazier is how our minds concoct all these fantasy’s for other people. LOL I guess a little healthy imagination never hurt anybody. You are absolutely right. So often we want what others have but don’t want to go through what they went through to get it. Or, like you said, if we only knew what it took for them to get it, we might think twice. Funny you say time management. That’s one of my biggest struggles. I’m constantly trying to manage my time better. Thank you for the love.

  3. So my first comment totally kicked rocks. Nope, your blog doesn’t come off like the glamorous others. I also think they spend all day with an expensive satchel tote on their wrist, Loubs on their feet and an endless supply of shopping.com at their finger tips. Although I love fashion just as much (reason I love your blog), I like it real..you know realistic and down to earth. Your thoughts/writing is refreshing as it gives us a dose of reality while you look good juggling the many roles you star in. I often wonder if I’m being too honest on my own blog? Maybe I’ll just run back over and pose the question to my readers? See you even give us writing ideas (:

    1. Ha ha! You’re funny! Even if I did have billions, I’m convinced that I would still shop the thrift and vintage stores. There’s something about finding that one of a kind item that kicks your wardrobe up a notch. Of course, I’d throw in a few Loubs and Balenciaga’s here and there. I like reading blogs that show me how to wear certain looks but how to do it at an affordable price, so my goal is to strike a happy medium. There’s no such thing as being too honest when you’re writing. People enjoy honesty, at least I do.

  4. Ohh almost nabbed these today in Marshalls in the bluey color. They are cute! I need to move away from brown, black and tan. Maybe going back to scoop these up 🙂

  5. Okay, I do remember how I found you. I read your fashion bombshell of the day and I was so impressed with how you put everything together, that I HAD to come back. You have introduced me to other blogs (like love maegan) and then…I see you on one of my favorite hair/fashion blogs! So, I swear we are friends in my head because we live in the same metro area, lol! But I love your fashion sense, your commitment to your family and to God. You have a great attitude and sense of humor (girl, I talk to myself too ;-)). I also don’t think you are rich, because LA is a great place to thrift as I do every now and again and find the greatest finds! I wish I could take a shopping trip with you one day, though, because I sometimes feel like “man, how did she find that??” (LOL) So, anyway, keep doing what you are doing, because we love it!

    1. Aha! I love Fashion Bomb! What hair/fashion blog? KisforKinky.com ? If so (even if not) aren’t they cute! LOL Where do you live? I have TONS of friends in my head too! It’s funny that I get the question a lot about how I found one thing or another and really I think that I used to have a tendency to pass up stuff because (a) I wasnt thinking outside of the box and (b) I didn’t have a plan. I typically just go shop when I have an idea in mind. Not an item, mind you (because I’ll never find it). Shopping with an idea makes it so much easier to find things to bring that idea to life. Just my philosphy I guess.

      1. Yes, kisforkinky.com. Love her too and she is in the LA area too. I thought the pics were super cute and you make the leggings live! I don’t think I could ever make leggings look that cute, lol! I live in the Valley (Studio City area), but I love how you put things together. I think you would be a great stylist 🙂 I guess I should think more in ideas than true outfits, because that is when I find the best stuff. I still have some of your DIYs to try. Can’t wait for the spring/summer.

  6. I love your blog! Everything about it is inspiring. I am also a mom, Christian woman and love fashion! Keep up the good work! I had to downsize my blog reading as I would spend hours reading. I only kept 10 and you are one of them!

    P.S. You seem sweet and sincere. Also very real. Never ever have I once thought you were a snob 🙂

    1. I’m so glad I made the cut! lol It’s tough when you wear all these hats, but I’ve learned that if I don’t keep myself feeling good about myself, then it’ll spill over to the family and then no one will be happy.

  7. I totally understand your feelings. I used to subscribe to a couple of blogs that had 3 – 5 posts a DAY, and I found myself imagining that they must have perfect lives and rich parents. Obviously, that’s not my story (and probably not theirs either, HA!). I subscribed to your blog because I was inspired by your style. And the spirit that I see in your writing is the same spirit that comes across in your YouTube videos. To me that spells authenticity, my dear. 🙂 Oh, and snobby girls do not wear Merona! Lol! I smile whenever I see the different brands you put together. It just goes to show that labels don’t matter. You just need an eye for fashion. Love ya!

    1. LOL! I know, I wonder how some bloggers do it. When I feel that envy gobblin rise I have to remind myself of all of the wonderful things I have in my life that keep me busy! Snobby girls don’t wear Merona, that’s for sure. LOL

  8. I have been reading your blog for several months now. I think that you are honest, courageous, beautiful and a wonderful representation of a wife, mama and a Christian. You, have shared your life and most importantly your faith with us. You remind me that being a christian does not have to be boring! Keep up the good work :)))

    xoxo

    1. RIGHT ON, Ms Denver! Being Christian does not equate to being a bore! I’m glad I’m not the only one that feels that way. Thank you for your encouragement. I’m glad that who I am is shinning through because really I dont know how else to be.

  9. Hi, Leslie! *waves*

    I believe that there are two types of individuals whom would subscribe to your blogs (or any other social outlets to keep up with you):

    1. Someone who aspires to be like you/ looks to you for inspiration.
    2. Someone who shares your interest/ finds commonality.

    I find myself in category #2. (It’s still unclear to me how I happened to run across your site. Never have I felt compelled to actually subscribed to a blog.) We share the same style and from the few post that I have read we have a similiar thought process. You wouldnt happen to be a Virgo, would you? Ha!

    Though I appreciate you reaching out to your avid readers and new subscribers for feedback. There really shouldn’t be any concern in my opinion. I think you should be flattered by the thought of anyone keeping tabs on you. It’s such a lovely compliment. So put all of those icky thoughts away and start prepping for your next post. You have an audience. Take a bow!

    xoxo,
    Yen

    P.S. Where’s the spell/grammar check? I don’t want anyone judging me too. *smile*

  10. I think we all try not to take to much stock in what others think about us, but truth be told if we’re blogging (sharing our lives with the world) deep down we really are effected in some way by other’s opinions.

    I absolutely adore your blog…I’m not sure how I happened to find it, but I’m so glad I did because many of your outfits have inspired me to change up/spice up my wardrobe. Especially the orange sweater. 🙂 I think you have an incredible sense of style and based on your blog have such a sweet down to earth personality.

    1. You’re right. We can deny it all we want, but there’s a part of us that wants to know what others think. Thanks for sharing! I appreciate you. (And I think I need to start eating more salads too. You make them look soooo good?)

  11. I think you are FAB. I wish you lived in Chicago so we could be besties 🙂
    Christian, Mama, Preacher’s wife all of that shines through and radiates through you. I think you are doing a great job w/ everything. Your fashion is off the chain so in my book you are all good in the hood. Snob:no. Sweet:yes.

    1. I’m starting to feel like this post was a selfish attempt to get compliments. LOL I promise it wasn’t! BTW you were fine before him “TM” and you’ll be even better after. What are you waiting for!?! Grab that remote and fast forward to the good part! 🙂 Oh and you have a friend in L.A. if you are ever in town!

  12. Hi,

    I subscribe via Google Reader. I don’t remember how I found you but I like your style so I continue to take a looksy at what you’re wearing. I just did some Reader cleaning (725) and I’m still interested….

    Keep doing what you’re doing!

    1. I’m honored that you kept me on your blog list. Speaking of blog clean-outs, can you clean mine too I’m desperate need. It’s insane. LOL By the way, I popped over to your blog and your daughter is irresistible. Just an angel!

  13. I love this outfit! It’s cute and the colors are so pretty together.

    I read your blog everyday…not once do I feel you’re being snobbish, I’m not sure if you’re rich (you may be…but it’s really none of my business)…I still love your clothes and how you put them together. I’ve been inspired many times by your wardrobe.

    But really who cares what others think….right? I have people who send me angry emails almost every other day because they don’t like who I am or what I wear.

    Who cares…keep rockin’ it girl!

    1. You know I adore you, Corie! Why would anyone have something negative to say about you? Jealousy is an ugly thing. You have such a great sense of style. For anyone else who doesn’t know about Miss Corie, they don’t know what they’re missing! 🙂 Oh, thanks for the love!

Join the discussion

