Customer Love

 

top: Bebe (T) | pants: sample | shoes: Classified | bag: Coach

 

 

 

The world we live in is so full of quick and easy transactions.  Good customer service is hard to come by.  Even Nordstrom’s is rethinking their approach to customer service.  Recently, my husband shared with me an experience that blew my mind.

While we were in Nashville with the kids last week we stayed at the Opryland Hotel.  The place is huge.  There’s so much to see and so much at your fingertips that there really is no need to ever leave.  On top of that, it’s covered by a dome so the temperature is always a comfy 75 degrees.  While we were there, we ran into some unfortunate circumstances that left us short on diapers.  Jon called the front desk to arrange for a tax to pick him and the kids up and take them to the local super market which was a $15 drive.  I guess over the coarse of talking to the front desk lady, she found out the size diapers we needed.  The next think I knew, Jon sent me a text message saying the woman that helped him at the front desk has gone out and purchased the diapers we needed out of her own pocket.  She left them at the front desk and didn’t even hang around to be thanked for her efforts or to get her money back.  I was beside myself.  I couldn’t believe this virtual stranger took time out of her day and money from her own pocket to buy my child some diapers.  It blew me away.  The fact that she wasn’t even looking for a “thank you” or even her money back was just beyond me.

Isn’t that amazing?  It really made me rethink how I serve others and if I do it just to get the job done or am I exhibiting a spirit of love.  Needless to say, I’ve changed my approach to how I treat others who need my services.  Not that I was cutting corners or doing the bare minimums, but I realized I could totally go above and beyond with no sweat off my back. The extra minute it takes me to go that extra mile can make a world of difference to someone.

By the way, the title of this post was after the book Customer Love by Mac Anderson.  It’s a quick read full of fun anecdotes of real life examples of excellent customer service.  If you’re someone who serves others in any capacity, I recommend picking it up.  It’s a quick, easy and fun read.

10 thoughts on “Customer Love

  1. Wow. That employee deserves a bonus in her paycheck. In my line of work, I always receive terrible customer service (yes, even in this recession where everyone should just be grateful to have a paycheck). I’ve never expected them to go the extra mile, but I wish that they would at least pretend like they want to do the job that they’ve been hired to do. There have been times where I’ve actually felt guilty for calling customer service and “bothering” them.

    By the way, I like today’s outfit – simple, but fashionable! I am so jealous that you’re wearing short sleeves. I’m buried in snow right now over here. 😦

  2. What a great lady! I hope you wrote a lovely letter to corporate about her! I complain about bad service enough to love to have a delightful letter to write! One coming up soon to the Mac lady in my life! For the record, I’m SO JEALOUS you can wear naked ankles right now!!

  3. What a rare and beautiful story of giving. Reminds me of the verse that says there is more happiness in giving than receiving and this woman surely practiced that. We can all do more giving from the heart without expecting anything in return knowing God sees it and is pleased.
    Thanks for sharing the story.

Join the discussion

