He’s Just Not That Into You

jacket: Ann Taylor | tee: express | jeans: Levi's | shoes: Anne Michelle | scarf: random | pouch: Bath & Body Works | watch: Michael Kors | ears: F21| nails: OPI Unripened | toes: OPI Ladies & Magenta-men

How many of you have seen the movie, He’s Just Not That Into You?  Most of you, I’m sure.  Well, I saw it for the first time the other night (and by “saw it” I mean that I saw the first half because I only had 45 minutes before the kids got home) and I was discouraged.  I had really high expectations A) because the title was just intriguing and B) because a few of my friends who had read the book said the book was pretty outstanding.  I should know by now that the book is always better than the movie (which is why I still haven’t seen the movie Precious…well, that and the fact that the scenes described by the author, Sapphire, burned some pretty traumatic images into my brain so seeing the movie would probably be a little too intense for me).  So, back to me being discouraged.  I’ll first say that when I watch movies, I get involved and I insert myself into the story.  I guess I was anticipating more of an enlightening and lighthearted experience.  So, when the story of the unhappily married couple unfolded it was depressing.  When the story of the hopeless romantic (her character’s name escapes me, but the actress is Ginnifer Goodwin) goes on and on about how shamelessly pathetic her attempts to nab a boy are, that too was depressing.  When Jennifer Aniston’s aging character gives the man (Ben Affleck) that she’s been dating for seven years and living with for five and ultimatum to marry her or else, and he chose else, that was depressing.  I don’t even want to begin talking about ScarJo’s character, because she just plain ticked me off.  I’m hoping the rest of this movie is better than the beginning.  I’m hoping for a happy ending.  I’m hoping the married couple come to their senses and realize that despite their differences, they love each other and can’t bear the thought of a second without each other.  I hope Ginnifer Goodwin’s character suddenly sees the light and realizes that any good woman doesn’t have to chase a man.  I hope a good man finds her as the “good book” says.  As for Jennifer Aniston’s character, hopefully her ex will realize that he really does love her and want to spend his life with her.  I hope they get married and have tons of Ben-nifer babies.  And little miss Scarlett Johanson’s character, she’s the worst off of the bunch.  She’s one that you just have to pray for because she’s got it all wrong.

Hopefully, I haven’t discouraged anyone else from seeing the movie because it does have it’s high points so far like Jennifer’s Aniston’s girl-next-door awkward humor, the hilarious office banter between Drew Barrymore’s character and her gay male co-workers and even though you might be tempted to drive a steak through ScarJo’s heart she’s a natural beauty and I’d watch any movie with her in it (I just LOL’d because in the movie there’s a scene where she’s talking with a guy about what men believe are the most important characteristics in a woman, 1. beauty, 2. cuteness  or 3. intelligence.  She’s disappointed when he says her top characteristics are beauty and cuteness.  She says something to the effect of women don’t only want to be outwardly beautiful, we want to be valued for our intelligence as well.   So, my comment about her being so beautiful pretty much just dismissed that statement. LOL)

Anyways, Happy NYE to you guys and stay tuned for my next post of my favorite looks from 2010.

15 thoughts on “He’s Just Not That Into You

  1. So I haven’t seen the movie, but I did find the book for $2 bucks on a thrifting excursion about two weeks ago. I hadn’t started reading it yet but with this post, I’ll start a few pages tonight. Have also read and seen the movie Precious. Just like The Devil Wears Prada and Waiting to Exhale, the books are much better than the movies. I’ll take my chance with He’s Just Not That Into You (the movie) soon.. I hope.

    PS: Your look is another hit! I love a cuff (mentioned on my site) and those shoes are fierce!

    http://www.earstothefeet.com

    1. Well, I finally finished the movie and sadly my feelings about the married couple with the cheating husband didn’t change. Disappointing! What’s even more disappointing was that it seemed like the movie tried to make it seem like the separation from his wife was a victory for him. Maybe it was just me. I’m glad that little miss desperate finally gotta man. LOL And I was REALLY glad that Bennifer worked out and he proposed. That was pretty cool.

  2. Literally laughing at loud at your review of the movie. The book is definitely better but the ending makes up for all the depression. Oh & I’m in love with the way you took nighttime shoes and made them daytime.

  3. LOL! I felt the same way about that movie although I did enjoy it. It just wasn’t all that people made it out to be so I was kinda disappointed. Anyway, I can’t even believe you can wear open toed shoes right now!

    I miss LA… and In ‘n Out (random)!

    and WHY am I up at 2 am blog stalking? I have no idea!

    1. LOL! I didn’t wear this outfit anywhere. I was playing dress up and really liked how this outfit turned out so I ran out to the front porch and took some pics. I really need to get a life. he he

      LA misses you too (and so does In ‘n Out)

  4. You are so funny! I do remember seeing that movie. It was ok….sort of depressing in a way.

    But I do love that jacket! I’ve never been in Ann Taylor….now I have reason to go check it out.

    Corie

Join the discussion

