Let it Burn

 

shirt: thrifted | jeans: unknown | shoes: Anne Michelle | bag: thrifted | hair: ratty french braid

I had a “moment” the other day and I debated with my “too cool for school” alter ego on whether or not to share this but, it was so ridiculous that I figured what the hay.  Anyways.  I was getting some breakfast together which consisted of a toasted Thomas wheat muffin with melted cheese and V8 (no I’m not your grandma and yes I drink old lady V8).  Well, I placed the muffin in the toaster oven and went about my business.  I came back a few minutes later to check on it, only this time my “check on it” turned into a gaze into oblivion.  I was daydreaming but not.  It was kind of like one of those creepy out-of-body experiences where you watch yourself but can’t really control yourself.  There I was watching my muffin burn.  I haven’t the slightest idea why, but I just let it burn.  Maybe it was the sound of the Hub’s footsteps coming down the steps or the crash of Julia throwing her juice cup on the floor, but whatever it was, I violently snapped out of it and rescued my charred muffin from the toaster oven.  You better believe I still ate it.  We don’t waste food around here.  What?  You’ve never heard of cajun style Thomas muffins? The oddest thing is that I couldn’t even begin to tell you what in the world I was thinking about.  For all I know time could have stopped.  So strange.  LOL  Has this ever happened to you where you’re lost in thought one moment and then you snap out  of it only to realize you have no idea what you just did with the last few minutes of your life?  Maybe it’s just me.  I wouldn’t be surprised.

P.S.  I don’ t know how it happens, I mean I know the holidays are coming a whole year in advance but they still make me anxious.  The Hubs and I are trying to make sure we make all the rounds from house to house.  Let the holiday house hopping begin!

13 thoughts on “Let it Burn

  1. This has happened to me but I was driving (wow). When you get to your destination and your like….Hey I don’t remember driving here, you don’t remember stop signs or lights. Then you look over your car to make sure there are no signs of hitting something or (omg) someone. Its a pretty weird experience but out of fear of being called coo coo you keep it to yourself. Lol

  2. I know exactly what you mean except it has happened to me while driving, freaky. I went through the motions of driving and I stopped at my destination and I had no recollection of what just happened. I couldn’t remember anything except getting in the car and starting to drive. It was like I day dreamed myself all the way from work to home.

  3. cute outfit! …i wouldn’t say something excatly like that has happened to me but i’ve been daydreaming (more like gazing at nothing and about nothing) for the past couple days. Its quite annoying. and for some reason it keeps happening. But i gaze and think about nothing….im just blank ~~~ well i hope i helped lol. Oh and LOL at the muffin. You’ll be fine =)

Join the discussion

