Sometimes Less is More

sunnies: random sunglasses guy in S.F. . watch: Michael Kors . top: Old Navy dress . cami: random . jeans: sample sale . belt: Levi . shoes: Qupid . purse: thrifted

As I thumb through my favorite blogs and search for new ones, I have begun to realize that I’m drawn to blogs with certain characteristics. Maybe it’s my busy lifestyle that doesn’t afford me the opportunity to sit online for hours at a time (honestly, on a good day I get about an hour). Maybe it’s my lack of patience (it’s been known to be the cause of many a habit of mine). Maybe it’s my lack of time management or the guilt that overcomes me when I’m on my laptop rather than being more “productive” with my time. Whatever the case may be, I find that my attention is drawn to posts with few but dramatic images, limited text, and infrequent posts.

Maybe it’s the lure of the unknown. I like a little mystery. A post with two versus ten pictures of the same outfit, is more likely to peak my interest. I’m more likely to read whatever text is on the page and even more likely to subscribe if the blogger posts no more than three times a week. I think I just get overwhelmed when there are tons of posts to read and so little time. Am I like anyone else?

Maybe I’m just too nosey for my own good. I like to know about people and I guess I kind of get turned off when I see a whole bunch of links. I want you! LOL What do you think? What characteristics do you look for in a blog ? Am I the pot calling the kettle black?

24 thoughts on “Sometimes Less is More

  1. Oh me oh my, I found your blog from another new fav fashion blog GOD’S Favorite Shoes.My Google Reader is sooo very happy now ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t subscribed to many fashion blogs for the very reason you mentioned…too many celebrity pictures and not enough everyday looks I can recreate. I’ve also recently fell in love with thrifting although my sister has been doing it for years, Thanks for sending me to http://www.urbannog.com. I ordered this shoe today: http://www.urbanog.com/Qupid-Neutral-35-Leopard-Peep-Toe-Pump_112_10465.html

    1. Goodie! I’m glad you took something away from my blog. My goal is to come up with looks that are transitional, affordable and effortless. Those shoes are HOT! I’ve put myself on shopping restriction (except for thrifting of course) until after the new year.

  2. I love your blog…1) because you post almost everyday, 2) there is not a ton of text to read, 3) you post outfit details, 4) it’s an everyday girl look (not something that I look at and can’t afford), 5) we have similar styles, so I love a lot of what you wear. I could go on and on, but you get the idea! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Wow! Thanks for the encouragement. There’s no science to blogging. It’s kind of hit or miss so really I’m learning that you have to have a passion for blogging and you have to go with the flow. I’d love to see your looks if you’d like to share! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I don’t like wordy blogs, that’s my pet peeve. I will skip all your ranting and raving about yourself and your life and go right for the pictures. I too don’t think a blog needs to be updated everyday. I’m thinking of posting every other day to give my readers more time to catch up to previous posts without having to backtrack so far. But I hate hate hate when my favorite bloggers take weeks off with no words. I quickly stop reading them.

    http://singaturestyle.blogspot.com/

    1. I love the lighthearted nature of your blog! It’s fun and funny! I LOVE funny! And your shoes….words cannot express! I want them all! LOL I enjoy real outfit posts that regular people wear. I’m very regular and I need very regular fashion in my life! Especially with 2 little ones running around.

  4. I am drawn to blogs with a lot oufit pictures and posts that don’t require a lot of reading. I also appreciate a blogger who links to items/websites. It’s so funny that you bring up infrequent posting… I am always so worried that I am posting too much.. lol.. but every other day is working well for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. As horrible and lazy as it sounds (lol) so am I. Honestly though if I had more free time I’d totally spend hours upon hours just reading blog after blog. Deep down inside I really do like to connect with the blogger, I just wish I had more time. Oh and the shoes on your blog today…I’ve been hoping that someone would finally do those shoes justice and you have! Well done! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I think your blog is great! I subscribed to it on my Google Reader and that has been a huge time saver for the many blogs I like rather than clicking on all the links I had in my favorites before. I tend to look for fashion blogs with cute outfits, not too many photos and info about outfits. I rarely read the text but I had a little time today ๐Ÿ™‚ I especially like when the bloggers clothes are affordable and easy to find.

      I also subscribe to Words and Wardrobes and that green dress is super cute today!

      1. Dont you LOVE Words and Wardrobe. She’s awesome! I’m all over Google Reader. If I read nothing else, it’s that! I like outfit posts too. I like to see celebrities from time to time but mainly every day girl fashion.

Join the discussion

