Confessions of a Fashion Blogger

top: sample sale . jeans: sample sale . shoes: Cathy Jean . purse: Louis Vuitton Speedy . watch: Michael Kors 
I’m envious.  I want what the bigger bloggers have.  I want to be on a focus group panel of a big retailer and be given the glamor treatment.  I want a Coach purse named after me.  I want my opinion to count. I want random products to show up at my doorstep so that I can review them on my blog.  These are the thoughts that I battle from time to time and this weekend was one of those times.  I’ve always wanted to be the best at everything.  I give 100% and nothing less.  I go hard or don’t go at all.  So, when I spent my designated  blogging hour laid out on my bed blog surfing, I began to get discouraged.  Doubt began to creep in…look at Maegan…she’s beautiful…she’s crafty…everyone loves her just look at her blog name…Karla‘s style is sooo fierce…her body is perfect…is she even human….Delmy‘s blog is “bananas”…her hair has a mind of its own and it’s genius…then there’s me.  
Do I even belong here?  Am I cut out for this?  Who am I kidding, I don’t even have the time to keep up with these young girls.  I have a husband and kids, not to mention work and my church life…I need to let it go.  This blogging stuff is fun, but it’s not for me.  I’m discouraged. 
Just then a DM tweet came to my cell phone from a blog follower we’ll call Jen:
Just wanted to send u a private note 2 let you know that ur blog & openness abt ur faith encourages me in my walk w/God.  I need to be more open about MY faith in my writing and your openness is inspiring.  Blessings!  
Her message was just a few sentences long but it meant more than she’ll ever know.  Let me be clear, my husband is my number one fan.  He tells me all the time how great of a job he thinks I’m doing, but a part of me says he’s supposed to say those kind and loving things to me.  He loves me and will always have a biased opinion.  So, what does the unbiased, objective person think.  As a believer, I know that God uses people and situations around us to draw us closer to Him.  I immediately stopped and rolled over.  I stared at the ceiling, closed my eyes and thanked God.  I’m not the biggest fashion blogger and I may not ever be…I’m okay with that.  I might never be asked for my opinion by anyone that so-called “matters”…I’m okay with that.  I may not even ever grow beyond my current readership  …I’m okay with that.  The fact that I’ve made a small difference in one person’s life and inspired her re-energized walk with God, is MORE than okay with me. That is my purpose for being here.  I’m here for His purpose, not mine. Thank you Jen for serving your purpose which was to remind me of mine!  
Before I go, I wanted to share something that I’m really excited about. After my episode this weekend, I was thrilled to receive a personal invitation from the owner of a local clothing company to sit on a focus group panel comprised of local business owners and well respected names in the fashion industry.  I was honored to receive the invitation and can’t wait to glean from the experience of those I’ll be sitting with.  What a cool opportunity, wouldn’t you say?  The bigger question is…WHAT TO WEAR?
Last, but DEFINITELY not least, here’s a picture of the hugest bouquet ever.  The Hubs hand- delivered 30 roses to my job.  This custom bouquet is freakishly HUGE.  I had to leave it at work because it won’t fit in the back seat of my car.  I love it and I love you, Jonathan!!!!

Here’s a little more about today’s outfit!
15 thoughts on “Confessions of a Fashion Blogger

  1. I have to agree with some of the other readers. I know I feel the same way sometimes, but for real.. blogging is personal. Its the industry that has made it into something else and created this sense of competition. I think your blog is awesome! Im a new follower.. and I enjoy reading (and seeing your youtube channel).. Hop on over in your spare time and check me out too! .. blogging is fun.. and whatever else YOU want to make it… (but the comments are nice too, lol)

    I was initially inspired by plus size fashions.. but I think your look is really cute. I may be “inspired by you” (copy cat) on a few looks in the near future!
    Mrs Hall In Training

    1. You’re so right! It really is about what each blogger wants to get out of their blogging experience. For me, I not only use it as a creative outlet, but I hope that I am sharing with other Christian women that you can love the Lord and be stylish at the same time. I peeked at your blog and fell in love with your confidence and style. You are so well put together!

  2. I’m not a fashion blogger but I have a fetish for shoes. Your blog was one of the few fashion blogs I’ve started following on a daily basis. Please keep up the wonderful work. I may not be in the exact same lane as your when it comes to my expression of God, but your blog inspires me to make necessary changes. I’m a work in progress and truly appreciate what you do.

  3. You have to understand that we are human, and every now and again doubt creeps in to bother us. However, God reminds us how omnipresent he is in our lives and that we shouldn’t give up, even when we think we should. You have touched more lives than you know. Although you have some followers, I am certain that you have more readers and lurkers than that. You are a woman of God and that will prevail!

  4. Les,
    I love you for some many reasons. Your honesty, your sweet sweet personality, and your humble and meek ways. You are an awesome Mother and Wife. You are truly an inspiration for women and girls. Your blog has substance and quality. As all of the other ladies said previously, don’t be discouraged. Greatness takes time and perseverance. You are definitely on your way. You’ve reached and touched more people than you’ll ever know. Some people will view your blog, watch your ootd video’s etc., and never comment or follow. That doesn’t mean they haven’t been inspired. Do what makes you happy, all that you desire will fall into place.

    Have a fabulous day and keep up the great work!
    Love you to pieces,
    Jacque

  5. The grass is always greener, isn’t it? You guys, I’m overwhelmed! When I posted these confessions I never anticipated the abundance of love, reassurance and encouragement I’d get from you all. My heart is so full and I truly thank you from the booty bottom to the tippy top of my heart! XOXO

  6. I love your blog, love stopping by everyday to see your posts. But DITTO @ Delmy’s, Karla’s and Maegan’s blogs (I felt the same way when I first came across their blogs, that hair (Delmy), and I only hope to inhabit a body as fit as Karla’s one day), but sometimes I have to remind myself that who knows who looks at your blog with the same thoughts “Oh I wish I was as fashioniable as Fashion Du Jour”, so you never know. Don’t stop blogging, their are tons of us out here that love to read your stuff! 🙂

  7. I think you’re making a great name for yourself in the fashion blogging world! I wish there were more real life-sized & easy-to-relate to bloggers. I appreciate your easy-breezy & unfussy style! And you include topics of substance not just posting after posting of expensive name-brand items that people shouldn’t really be focused on in this economic climate anyway. Keep up the good work!

  8. Lady, do not get this discouraged. The young women who are getting press and endorsements have been blogging for 3 years or more. I know Susie and Rumi have been posting outfits since 2004-2005 and were big on mystylediary.com back in the day, so they are not overnight sensations and they have long-time followers. Cashmere and Cupcake has been posting for as long as I have if not longer. Just keep building your audience. You might want to really push your blog via youtube. I have see video blogger (vbloggers) “come-up” a lot faster then regular website bloggers. Also remember that the fashion industry is very discriminating and they hardly want to feature black bloggers. If they halfway “blow-up” a African American fashion blogger it will be 1 or 2 (at the most) that are already in the fashion industry as models or stylists; and they still won’t get the kind of press that their white counterparts will. That’s just the nature or should I say the beast of the industry. Plus size divas also get “no love” or press from the industry.

    If you continue with this (and I hope that you do) you have to just love doing it and remember even if the big endorsement don’t come like that, there will be many women who will be inspired by you and follow your blog because of your wonderful style, your personality, your values and everything you represent! You have a quality blog here with a lot of potential, you just have to keep doing what you do best! Diva, obviously you don’t want it to eat up your quality time with your family, balance is key. I will always support you!

  9. God gives us so many gifts to witness to the world and he has given you this wonderful fashion ministry to witness. I love reading your blog and I’m amazed that someone so beautiful and fashionable can be a pastor’s wife. You are changing the way pastor’s wives are viewed as being plain and simple. Now they are fashionistas! BTW – I work PT in a church office.

    OhioAmanda

Join the discussion

