MOMMY 101: To Grope or Not to Grope

preg

This is my 4th go around and I still don’t know how to say it.  Sure, there are a ton of other things more uncomfortable while being pregnant, but this is right around the top of the list.  I tend to be overly conscious of hurting other people’s feelings but I can’t think of a sweet, pleasant way to say, “KEEP YOUR HANDS OFF MY BELLY!”

I’m not a very touchy-feely person {says the pregnant lady with 3 kids}.  Not that I run from it, but it’s just not my natural tendency.  Typically, I prefer a nice generous arm-and-a-half’s length distance between myself and the person I’m talking to.  Now of course, if we’re standing next to a jackhammer in the middle of  a construction zone, okay sure, you can come closer but in general if you’re close enough to high-five, you’re probably too close.  However, drop a cat in my lap and I melt.  LOL  Seriously though, one of the great things about having children is that I’ve become a lot more…cuddly. Who can resist a cuddle from the minnies?

I hope I don’t sound like Negative Nancy here {blame the hormones}, but tell me, what do you think about someone touching your pregnant belly?  I know there’s something so cute about a pregnant belly and some people just can’t help themselves, but a pregnant belly is not an invitation to touch.  Would you agree?

So, help, tell me what’s a sweet way to get the message across?

fashiondujour-fashiondujourdaily-fashion-du-jour

18 thoughts on “MOMMY 101: To Grope or Not to Grope

  1. Oh God, I HATED when people touched my stomach. All except for my boyfriend. I’d make him rub my belly lol. My son loved rubbing my belling when I was pregnant with his sister and I was all for it. For some reason, people think they have the RIGHT to touch you. It’s almost like they’ve never seen a pregnant woman…like, “OMG, you’re so big.” Well, yah…lol.

  2. Heheeehe…I’m pulled. People I know and love I see it as them blessing me and getting to know my little one while in the womb–family, besties, grandmas-to-be, old sweet ladies at church but strangers….uhhh not so much so I did the hand guard thing. I would hold my tummy with both hands albeit very casual looking, it left little room, literally and figuratively, for others to touch especially if you rub! They would have to do a hand tango kinda thing—awkward and requiring too much coordination.

  3. Haha, I love this post! I’m currently pregnant with my first and it is so strange that people all of a sudden want to touch me. I don’t think people think of it as touching my belly, instead, it’s their way of connecting with the baby. They seem to momentarily forget that I’m still attached. It’s awkward, lol.

    Sincerely,

    Buffalo Britty
    http://www.buffalobritty.blogspot.com/

  4. Certain cultures believe it is good luck or a blessing when someone touches their pregnant belly….I am not a part of that culture and would prefer if people did not. With that being said, I had the same problem, and had to grit(my teeth) and bear it, because I could not figure out a way to be polite while saying ‘I prefer if you didn’t do that’. By the way, Congrats too you!!

  5. Yikes, I think I was one of those belly touchers with your pregnancy number 3! Just as we tell our kids no one has the right to touch their body with out their permission, same holds true with you! Perhaps when that hands starts moving towards your belly, you can smile and simply say: No touchy feely please! God has blessed you, enjoy your beautiful self!

    • Haha! Were you? I don’t remember? And you’re sooo far from being a stranger. I was probably just so excited to see you I didn’t notice. :) God Bless you and thank you! All my very very best to you and the family especially little Jacquelyn who I’m sure isn’t so little anymore!

      • Jacqueline will be three on Wednesday! Time sure does fly by! I am loving following you on your blog, what a special thing you are doing! Sharing YOU with so many others that are going through the same thing you are is amazing! You look fabulous and I look forward to continue following your journey! And, can’t wait for Jacqueline’s baby sissy coming very soon! Continued blessings to you!

  6. LOL. I can’t remember this happening too much with either of my pregnancies. I guess, I spent most of my time around family and I didn’t mind them touching the belly BUT my pet peeve is when strangers stick their hands in my hair! Just because I’m natural and they want to FEEL it! UGH! I hate that so I can understand exactly where you are coming from!

  7. Agreed! If I know the person, Then I am ok with it. But if I do not know you. I have a problem with it. If you are a stranger that’s even worst.

  8. Well, being a mom of four myself, I may have a little different opinion on this one. My girls are all older now like college and high school and junior high school age. I said that to say that I still remember pregnancy with them…even though it’s been a minute. I remember one lady in particular who came up to me during my second pregnancy telling me ‘girl, you should stay pregnant because you look so cute!” That did wonders for my huge self! She later passed away, but I still think about that comment to this day.
    I am of that group that welcomes unsolicited touches on the pregnant belly because it is such a wonder and a blessing. Although I DO NOT go around touching pregnant bellies (unless I get permission), I was all for it during my pregnancies.
    And it is absolutely your right to tell people hands off! …without an ounce of guilt. It is your belly! So brace yourself because the “wanna touch touchers” are coming!
    Wishing you a great pregnancy and wonderful New Year!

Join the discussion

