MOMMY 101: SKIN CARE {SPECIFIC BEAUTY}

specific-beauty-exfoliating-wipes

During pregnancy there’s a lot going on in a woman’s body.  Often times all of these changes cause a woman to get dry skin, oily skin, blotchy skin and even dark spots.  Present most commonly in women of color is the later, dark spots.  Speaking first hand, this is actually a common condition.  So common, in fact, that it is referred to as the mask of pregnancy.  Really…Google it!

Blotches of dark skin usually appear around your cheekbones, upper lip area, nose and forehead sort of like a mask.  Not only does it appear on the face but on other parts of the body as well, usually areas that are exposed to direct sun like your forearms.  Areas of your skin that are already a darker pigment such as freckles, moles and nipples can become darker as well.

Oh and let’s not forget the “linea nigra”.  The who?  All women have a line from the belly button to the pubic bone called a linea alba.  Chances are you never noticed it because most times it’s the same color as the rest of your skin.  During pregnancy, this line becomes pigmented and is then called the linea nigra.  While the other dark spots will usually fade back to your normal skin color a month or so after delivery, the linea nigra will take a bit longer, maybe closer to three months.

As I mentioned it’s natural for your skin to become oily, dry, or even a combo.  I’ve never had a skin routine…let me rephrase that…I’ve never had a skin routine that I would admit to {since hand soap and water is embarrassing} but while I’m pregnant, I do try to pay extra special attention to the changes going on with my body including my face.  I will say, that I have one rule that I must must must wash my face before I go to sleep.  True story, I’ve woken up in the middle of the night to wash my face.  Call me weird, but I just imagine all the smog, dust, finger dirt, smoke from the day caked up on my skin seeping deeper and deeper into my pores that I’m compelled to stick my face under that faucet.  

When I heard about Specific Beauty Exfoliating Cleansing Cloths, I was pretty excited to try them out because it would mean one less thing for me to do before I go to sleep.  How?  Well, what I learned about these cloths is one side is beaded and intended for exfoliating your skin while the other side is for removing makeup.  It’s alcohol and oil free which means it’s safe for me and baby and doesn’t even require water.  They contain aloe, which even I know is good for your skin.  And Vitamin E and green tea which are potent antioxidants.   They’re even safe for contact-lens wearers.  So, you can literally leave them on your nightstand, get in the bed with your cookies and gallon of ice cream…what…give your face a good clean and go to sleep guilt-free.  Oh, and did I mention they are made specifically for women of color.  Yup!

Try them out.  They’re very reasonably priced and I think you’ll be glad you did.

fashiondujour-fashiondujourdaily-fashion-du-jour

4 thoughts on “MOMMY 101: SKIN CARE {SPECIFIC BEAUTY}

Join the discussion

