The Root

God-christian-fall-leather-mimi-boutiqueGod-christian-fall-leather-mimi-boutiqueGod-christian-fall-leather-mimi-boutiqueGod-christian-fall-leather-mimi-boutiqueGod-christian-fall-leather-mimi-boutique

similar: jacket | top | necklace: c/o MimiBoutique

I read a daily devotional called the Daily Bread and one in particular stood out. I’ve been thinking about it all week and I know that when something sits on my heart and mind, I need to share it.

Matthews 13:20-21- “But he that received the seed into stony places, the same is he that heareth the word, and anon with joy receiveth it; Yet hath he not root in himself, but dureth for a while: for when tribulation or persecution ariseth because of the word, by and by he is offended.” 

There are some people who, not counting the cost, and taking little thought of the demands that will be made upon their life, happily receive the Word with a quickness of apprehension, a liveliness of interest, and a quickly expressed excitement.  

In the lives of these stony hearers, the real test comes not in the manner in which they receive the Word, but in the depth of their commitment to it.  When the root of that seed reaches down, desiring a greater selflessness, a more encompassing love, and a deeper self-denial, it finds that underneath that open reception is a heart still unchanged, unconverted, and stone-cold. 

 “A divided heart loses both worlds” – A.B. Simpson

Rather than go on and on {because trust me I can} about this, tell me.  What does this mean to you?  And if you don’t currently have a prayer life or devotion time, I encourage you to make it a part of your day.

 

text only logo

 

16 thoughts on “The Root

  1. Pingback: What Exactly IS Business Casual? | FASHION du Jour daily

  2. My grandmother gifted me with a subscription of the Daily Word a few years ago and sadly I must admit that I don’t read it nearly as often as I should. I always perceived it as being for “older” people but now I’m going to make more of an effort to use it.

  3. Too cute Leslie! Oh and yes that necklace is sold out :( Let me know when you plan on selling it :)
    I was looking at an old post of you sharing some of your favorite bloggers. You should do more of those. It’s always good to put some shine on those bloggers we don’t know :)

Join the discussion

