“Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!”

I know I’m not the only one who has those days when none of the outfit combinations you try and pull together look right.  In my house, it a global crisis!  Jon knows not to even think about offering advice, because I tend to get a little snappy when I can’t find the right outfit.  I tell you, that guy’s a Saint, but not being able to pull an outfit together…in the wise words of our beloved Sweet Brown, “Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That!”

Well, for the longest time I’ve been saying to myself, they should make some kind of device or robot who will pull together an outfit on those days when nothing seems to look right.  Or if they can just give me that closet that Cher had in Clueless, I’d be set.

Short of a finding a Cher closet, I was lucky enough to learn about a website appropriately called What Goes With This {WGWT}.  The site provides a community to help you figure out how to make the perfect outfit for any occasion.   As an early engager I got to actually see how the site works and if it really stands up to the challenge.  Here’s how it works:

step1Create an account and visit the home page {below}.  The Home page shows you all of the items that folks are looking for recommendations on.  For example, the pink boots below, someone is asking what to pair with them.

what-goes-with-this-wgwt-fashiondujourdaily

step2

When you click on one of the images you an then see what others have recommended.  You’ll also see a place to make your own recommendations.

step 2

step3

To make a recommendation click on the pink “Recommend a Look” button and then add a link to where the item you recommend can be found online, or if you have an image from your blog or elsewhere you can add it here as well.   There’s even space for you to offer comments.

step 3-page0001

After leaving a few suggestions for girls, I decided to add an item to my profile and see how long it took to get some recommendations and how good the recommendations were.  I posted a pic of me in a GOD CAN top and listed $50 as the amount that I was willing to spend on the rest of the outfit to complete the look.  I was surprised by how quickly someone offered a recommendation.

request

Notice the necklaces and blazer someone recommended.  I’m not sure I’d wear the necklaces with this top but I wear blazers with practically everything so I’d definitely wear the blazer and honestly I might not have thought of this combination.  I really liked her skirt recommendations as well.  She left a comment saying, “Choose among these three options: a blazer, a pencil skirt or a statement necklace! You could pick all three but that would be out of budget!”

response-r

And, what do you know, I actually took the girl’s advice and paired my top with a black blazer and skirt that I already own.  What do you think?

.003god-can-clothinggod-can-clothinggod-can-clothing

I really enjoyed how simple this process was because really, when I’m at the point when I’m frustrated with nothing to wear, the last thing I want is to rely on unreliable technology.  And best of all, it’s free!

But you don’t have to take my word for it.  Take a visit to What Goes With This and see for yourself!

text only logo

[POWERED BY GLAMST]

12 thoughts on ““Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!”

  1. So cute!!! I’ve also heard about an app where you can scan and item and it will show pairings but I think it cost $25…and like you said aint nobody got time for that when this website is free! Thanks for sharing and um..ma’am? I’m still not sure you didn’t pull a Beyonce and have a surrogate, not just for your youngest but ALL of your chirren! Moms of three just DON’T have that body. They just don’t! ;-)

Join the discussion

