What’s it Like?

fashion-leggings-bebe-planning

fashion-leggings-bebe-planning

fashion-leggings-bebe-planning

jacket, legging: CAbi | top: Bebe | shoes:  Chinese Laundry

Friends ask me what it’s like to be “off the leash” and no longer working a 9 to 5.  I feel like it hasn’t been that long since I left my full time job but it’s been since the end of July so about 1 month.  Truth is, it’s been great!

I have the flexibility to take care of home, drop off and pick up my kids and pursue the path God has for me. I love having a chance to actually sit down and ask my kids how their day was instead of listening with one ear and talking to them over the clanging of pots and pans or in the middle of washing dishes.  I get to give them focused attention and really be present.  We’ve been reading Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume – one chapter a night and they get REALLY into it.  We’re on the chapter when Peter is put in charge of Fudgie’s birthday party.  Poor Peter.

A few weeks ago Julia said to me, “Mom, I need attention.”  I don’t remember what it was I was doing but she was right.  She does.  Of my three littles, I’m sad to say that Julia gets the short end of the stick.  On one hand she acts so stinkin mature that it’s almost like there’s another full grown adult (who occasionally needs her bum wiped) living in our house.  I have to remind myself that she’s only 4, especially when she says to me, “Mommy, why are you trying to be cuter than me?” lol  I never really know how to respond to that so I say, “I can never be cuter than you, Julia!”

Someone once said, “You validate people’s lives, by the attention you give them” and for children this is the absolute truth. The only way they know you love them is by your actions.  They don’t fully understand the concept of love like adults do, but they know it when they’re not getting it.  For many parents, it’s not until it’s too late that they realize the kind of attention their child did get versus the kind of attention the child didn’t get makes a huge impact on the life path the child chooses to take as a teen and into early adulthood.

I thank God for the opportunity to spend more time with my littles and my husband.  Not every parent does so I must seize the moment.

text only logo

13 thoughts on “What’s it Like?

  1. Hi Fashion du jour,

    I happened to stumble on your blog…Love it by the way. Really refreshing, so much so I have read this post 3 times (about being a stay at home mom). I keep coming back to it because I am in the dilemma of trying to decide if and when I have my next child do I want to stay home. If so, this will be lots of sacrifices. I really feel like my 4 year old daughter could benefit from me being home more. I am in the apparel industry and it keeps me extremely busy and focused ( too focused). Seeing your post was like a confirmation to me that it is okay to make that decision and you can still do things that make you feel apart of society. I am really struggling with making this decision and still have not come to a final decision ( getting close). We have a lot in common ( love fashion, preachers wives/1st lady and young, family oreinted). I can identify with you a lot.

    • Oh Amanda! I want you to know that this decision was definitely not an easy one to make and believe me there are days when it would be so much easier to crawl out of bed on autopilot to my 9-5. I hear that voice from time to time tell me how irresponsible or selfish of a decision I made, but because I know God and I know that He placed this on my heart I know that I have no choice but to pursue it with every inch of my heart. There’s more to the story.

      Cool to hear we have so much in common. I’d definitely like to stay in touch. Email me: fashiondujourdaily@gmail.com

  2. Excellent website! I absolutely like how it is nice on my eyes it’s. I’m wondering how I could possibly be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed for your RSS which could do the trick? Have a excellent day!

  3. Aww, this was such a cute post! I am glad that God has put you in this position at his appointed time. I am sure that you are going to continue serving him well!

  4. Leslie you look absolutely amazing! It is true…. we often get sooo wrapped around the job duties we have NOT knowing that often something or someone is getting the short end of the stick because the day simply flies by then having to do it all over again. I can only imagine that it is refreshing to be able to have the opportunity to be at home. Cherish the moments. Julia is a DIVA in the making!

Join the discussion

