The Intersection

cropped-jeans-fashion-du-jour-mimiboutique-aldo-style

shoes: Aldo | jeans: Ernst DIY cut at ankle| earrings & clutch: c/o mimiboutique

A LOT has changed since I last posted.  Mostly traveling with the family.  In June we went to New Jersey, New York and Connecticut.  We were in New Jersey for my church‘s awesome national youth convention.  We were in New York, because we’ve never been and we were in Connecticut to see my grandmother.  It was her first time meeting my children.  I’m so glad we were able to make it.  The last time I had seen her was at my wedding in 2006.  She reminds me so much of my mom, it’s crazy.

jeans-heels-casual-fashion-fashion-du-jour-daily

In early July, I went to Portland, OR with my job and was there for a week.  At the end of July and early August we were in Alabama for my church’s 61st International Holy Convocation.  It was nothing short of awesome.  This year we had an opportunity to stay an extra week because I didn’t have to go back to work…more about that in a bit.  We got a taste of that good ol’ southern cooking and southern hospitality.  Although, I’m not used to the almost daily thunderstorms and sweltering heat, I have to admit that it was a nice change of pace.

jeans-heels-casual-fashion-fashion-du-jour-daily

So, next week will be the first solid week I’ve been back home since June.  It’ll also be the first week as a work at home mom.  After much prayer, in July I made the decision to leave my full time job to pursue my passions, which are to spend more time with my children and family, work alongside my husband in ministry, build our family printing business Young Connection, and focus on FASHION DU JOUR and the blogger group I created BLM: BLOGGERS LIKE ME.  I have to say this decision to leave my “place of security” has been scary but I would be even more afraid if I didn’t believe with every drop of blood in my body that this is what God has for me.  In any decision I make, I’m prayerful but I also look for confirmation after the decision is made.  I’m pleased to say I’ve received confirmation in so many ways and I’m excited beyond words.

D

Someone once said that the things you do for fun can pay the bills if you do them right.  If you find yourself burdened with a lack of interest in what you’re doing , you end up drained and discouraged.  Happiness is found where interests and capabilities intersect.  The key is to do what you enjoy and then do it better than anyone else you know.  In doing this, you can make a living doing what you love.  Better yet, you don’t end up burned out from working because you’re doing something that interests you.  The key is to find the point at which what you love, what you’re good at, and what people will pay for, intersect.

Here’s to doing what you love!

P.S.  Young Connection is now offering a program called CONSIDER IT DONE.  If you’re one of those women busy with work, school, family, keeping hubby happy and everything else under the rainbow, this service is for you. CONSIDER IT DONE takes care of personalizing and mailing your greeting cards so that you can have time for all those very important activities in your life.  For more information email info@youngconnection.com

11 thoughts on “The Intersection

  1. Hi Leslie,

    That is a huge decision, but as you said you got the confirmation and go ahead. God has been with you in the beginning, is now in the middle and will be to the end. Wish you all the best in your new endeavours. Much success to you all! :-)

  2. Hey busy lady,
    So you was in my state, N.Y, the city that never sleeps. Oh how I miss that place… Sometime ;). When I get bored here in GA , I miss N.Y but the pace of life in NY is too busy.
    I have not been on here for a while but you crossed my mind this past week. Congratulations on your decision to be a stay home mom and your new endeavors.
    I have been home with my kiddos for about two years now and yes there are days it’s a challenge, but the end result are so rewarding.
    I pray for continued success in your future for you and your family.
    Blessings,
    Vernice

    • Hey Lady!!!!

      I sure was. It was only for tours, shopping and sight-seeing though. I REALLY wanted to see some BLM Girls but i just couldn’t seem to make it happen. Thanks for the extra words of encouragement. I keep hearing testimonies from women who have done what I did and how glad they are that they made the decision. I’m pressing on and looking up!

    • Hi Christina!

      Thank you for the encouragement Girl! I have those moments when the thought of doubt flashes in my mind, but that voice in my spirit an encouragement from family and friends always seems to snap me out of it.

  3. WOW… You’re definitely a strong and admirable woman. After reading this post definitely makes me want to put my first foot forward into going for what I know. It’ll take some time but someday I will have that strength to step out on faith and just let the cards fall where they may. So happy for you, good luck and God bless you and your future endeavors…

    • Thanks Zavonna! I’ve never stepped out on faith like this but I believe in the works I’m doing and I know God wouldn’t put something in my spirit without working it out for me in advance. It’s up to me to get to work! I wish you all the best too Zavonna! :)

Join the discussion

