5 Years in the Making

Necklace: Gift | jacket: GAP | tee: unknown | skirt: DIY vintage dress | watch: Michael Kors | shoes: Soda

On May 27th, my husband and I will be celebrating 5 years of marriage.  It’s incredible to think about all that’s happened over the last 5 years, yet it still feels like we’re still newlyweds.  I turn into a big baby when I think about how far we’ve come, the ups and downs and how I blessed we are.  For my own sake, I’ll keep this post short and just tell you a couple reasons why I think we’ve made it this far:

1.  He’s funny – It may sound crazy but I love it when my husband makes fun of me.  When he imitates me,  I just think it’s the funnies thing because he’s so spot on.

2.  He keeps his word – There’s not a single time I can recall that my husband has said or promised something that he has not been able to remain faithful to.  Not a thing.  That may not mean much to the next girl, but to me it’s major.

3.  He’s a protector –   This man will stop at nothing to protect his family.  He constantly prays over us and is always looking out for our well being in every sense of the word.

4.  He’s a great cook – Need I say more?

5.  He loves God – As my pastor puts it, any man that doesn’t love God wont love you long.

By the way, do you recognize this skirt?  It used to be a dress. Remember this…

I DIY’ed this dress into a skirt.  Nothing major, I just took a pair of scissors and cut it in half, literally.  Not to shabby, if I do say so myself.

By the other way, don’t forget to enter to win a $50 Mimi Boutique giveaway.  Click on the banner below for details.

17 thoughts on “5 Years in the Making

  1. How beautiful is this!!! Congrats on the upcoming anniversary. Its wonderful to see how God is working in not only your professional life but your personal as well. We will be celebrating our 4th on the 18th of this month.

  2. Wow, what a beautiful post!! Congrats!! I love that 2nd one where you talk about how you can ALWAYS depend on his word!! this is pretty high up there on my list for finding a husband!! And of course, having God as his number one!! Sounds like you’re quite blessed!!!

    Krys
    Fierce|Fabulous|Fit
    @FierceFabFit

  3. Blessed be your marriage. That’s wonderful. It’s an up and downhill thing but both have to want it to work. Your outllook is great.
    After a winter of black leggings and jeans, I’m going into gloral and pastels for summer. I like your skirt. Yes I’m starting to wear clothes like that. I just recently bought a maxi dress.

  4. You and Eboni are rubbing off on me. I just made some alterations to a dress I’m wearing to our multicultural celebration. Ok to the good stuff. Thanks for sharing openly about the world of marriage. As a single girl its nice to have a view inside the life of a young couple who puts GOD first. The qualities you listed about your hubby should be important to every woman, they most certainly are to me. I wish you and your family many more years of blessed wedding bliss. Your foundation guarantees it. Xo

Join the discussion

