Coke Kills

 

coat: random | top: Worthington's | skirt: random | tights: Merona |ring: Target | shoes: Speed Limit 98 | bag: Coach | necklace: mimiboutique.com

 

 

 

I think I may have shared with you that I’ve been trying to stay away from dark sodas, namely Coke.  I received an email several months ago that talked about all the terrible ways that soda is killing you with every sip.  At first, I blew it off and figured it was one of those urban legend email chains, but the more I thought I about it, the more it started to make sense that all the God-knows-what that goes into those cans, can’t possibly be adding years to my life.  I did a little digging and found some interesting information about the effects of coke on the body and it goes a little something like this.  In the first 10 minutes 10 teaspoons of sugar hit your system. (100% of your recommended daily intake.) You don’t immediately vomit from the overwhelming sweetness because phosphoric acid cuts the flavor allowing you to keep it down.  In the next 20 minutes you begin to feel the first real effects on your body.  Your blood sugar spikes, causing an insulin burst. Your liver responds to this by turning any sugar it can get its hands on into fat. (Theres plenty of that at this particular moment).  Fourty minutes later, caffeine absorption is complete. Your pupils dilate, your blood pressure rises, as a response your livers dumps more sugar into your bloodstream. The adenosine receptors in your brain are now blocked preventing drowsiness.  Your body ups your dopamine production stimulating the pleasure centers of your brain.  The effect of coke is physically the same way heroin works, by the way.  Isn’t that crazy!  The funny thing is that I began writing this post with the intent of sharing with you all the millions of reasons why Coke is so much cooler than Pepsi, but now I feel a little disgusted and ashamed.  Okay girls, well if I haven’t said it before, I’m saying it now.  I am not drinking anymore soda.  Okay I said it, so let me hurry up and log off before I change my mind and delete this post as if it never existed.

P.S. I have no idea why I look so perturbed in these pictures.  I don’t remember what was going on that day, but I don’t remember feeling like I look…upset.

22 thoughts on “Coke Kills

  1. OMG!! I just finished a 21 day fast in Jan and Coke was my vice. I’ve had a few since then but nothing like the addiction I was having before. This post has me flabbergasted!! But thank you for clarifying the wonderful feeling I would get after I drank one! I KNEW it was real! LOL!

    Love your blog by the way and your shoes are FAB!!!!!!!!

  2. Great post for the content and pictures! I wonder if club soda has any of those same affects? I want to try mixing sugar free drink mix with club soda. I need to cut my addiction to sugar in general, but its hard!

  3. I really like that golden color on you and I love how it pops against the black.

    I stopped drinking sodas completely a couple of years ago when I received an email detailing how Coke is used to clean blood off of streets after acidents by policemen and how you could clean old rust off of things around your home or in your garage with it *gasp*. THAT told me that sodas were much too strong and all kinds of wrong for my body.

  4. I am an avid drinker of Pepsi and Dr. Pepper is my fave. I have limited it by buying those really little cute, yet obnoxiously expensive cans, so that has cut my intake down. Cold turkey would not work for me.

    1. LOL…is it terrible that after I wrote this post, I said under my breath, I guess that means I need to swith to Pepsi! LOL Yes, I love the little bitty cans. I never buy them though. I just buy the liter.

  5. My daughter’s UPK class just did an experiment where they put an egg in a cup of soda (coke/pepsi) and the results are similar to the affects it has on our teeth. Luckily, soda is a no no in our house: my daughter has never had it and I haven’t had it since she’s been born (5 years). We OD on apple juice :) I encourage anyone and everyone to not indulge. Good luck with quitting!

  6. I had to look at the post title twice, lol. I am a die hard Pepsi fan but that stuff is liquid death. After reading you post I feel even worse about the one I just had with my lunch.
    Are your pumps velvet?

  7. Great message!!! Although I cringed when I read it, and shook my head at the facts I knew and still continue to drink Coke… I’m taking this as a tap on the shoulder and that “mama-like finger” shaking side to side. I’m staying away now! On to the outfit… I love the mustard/burnt orange color. I can never find enough garments in that color. The Shoes….. #todiefor (LOL@ my hash tag)

    1. LOL! There should totally be some kind of placebo soda. You know like how there are those faux cigarettes that people smoke when they want to quit. They need a faux-coke, or a patch or something. Maybe it’s just me with the addiction. MY GOODNESS!

  8. First, you look FABULOUS!!! And you are sooooo right, anything that can dissolve battery acid, surely can’t be good for the body. Very wise move to cut out soda from your diet, my dear!!!

  9. Love this post! You look fab! So right about the soda (we call it pop). I stopped drinking pop about 2 years ago (except for social occasions) and I lost about 10-15 lbs. It is horrible on your kidneys, teeth, and is a major cause of diabetes. Thank you for putting new info out there, on how it immediately impacts the body.

Join the discussion

